Fordmods Logo

Amp not turning on 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Amp not turning on
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:25 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,

I've had my system for ages with no probs but last night on the way to work I was pumping music (pretty loud, but not much louder then I usually have it) and the sound stopped. I've had this once before but I just let the amp cool down and it comes back.

Except this time it won't, the amp stays off. I've only got bass as the monoblock amp for the subs works, but the 4-channel for the speakers doesn't go on (it still has power, cos the red OFF light is on on it, but the blue ON light won't go on). When I turn on the car/headunit I get a cracking sound from the front right speaker.

I checked the fuse on the battery and the amps but can't find any blown ones.

What could be the prob?

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 3:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

have you checked the remote wire??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Remote wire might've fried as mentioned about. Also, make sure the speaker wires for whatever is running off the dead amp are not shorting together. If the off LED is illuminated, it may be in protect mode. If that's the case, rectify the short and you should be sweet.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:29 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Wires seem to be in good shape, although can you actually physically see if the remote wire is fried?

Heres what happens exactly after observing. Once you turn power/headunit on, BOTH amps turn on, all speakers make a crack sound, then immediately speaker amp goes into protect.

I don't know too much about systems so its hard for me to work out whats wrong.

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Unplug all the signal cable (RCA) and try turning it on again. Same problem?

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I'd say your in deep poop.

Have you checked all you RCA connections?
Do you have a multimeter/test light handy? If so you can check if the remote is giving a constant reading.

Unplug the RCAs and speaker wires from the amp and see if it turns on then. If it does the same thing you've probably blown something internal.

If it turns on add the RCAs while off and see if it turns back on again. If it does then you probably have a speaker problem eg speakers blown/shorting out.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:45 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Check the voltage of the remote wire at the amp referenced to ground.

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:14 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK I'll give this all a go. Could the speakers be blown and thats the reason for the cracking sound and then the amp goes into protect - like once the speakers try turn on the amp goes into protect?

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:27 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

OK the amp turns on without RCAs. Progress! Blown speakers I suppose. I'm going to take one out and try it on my stereo.

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

lukey wrote:
OK I'll give this all a go. Could the speakers be blown and thats the reason for the cracking sound and then the amp goes into protect - like once the speakers try turn on the amp goes into protect?


Yeah, that could be the problem.

I would ultimatly suggest disconnecting everything from the amp except pos, neg, and remote, and seeing what happens. If it works fine, add RCA. If it still works fine, add speaker by speaker until something throws it into protect. That will show you what is causing it, if its anything external.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

lukey wrote:
OK the amp turns on without RCAs. Progress! Blown speakers I suppose. I'm going to take one out and try it on my stereo.


So, the amp turns on without the RCA plugged in, but all the speakers still in the amp?

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:33 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Yep thats right. All speaker cables in but no RCAs. Now I have the fronts working but not the rears. So just without rear speaker RCAs. So I figure rear speakers are blown.

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

lukey wrote:
Yep thats right. All speaker cables in but no RCAs. Now I have the fronts working but not the rears. So just without rear speaker RCAs. So I figure rear speakers are blown.


No, the rear speakers should be fine. I reckon the RCA run doing the back speakers is damaged. Change the RCA that is running the now working front speakers to the other two channels and see if that makes the back speakers work.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Alright, so either RCAs will work in the front speakers input on the amp, but neither will work on the rear speakers input. Then it goes into protect.

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:12 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 963

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: Liberty MY04 4GEN Luxury

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Looks as though I have sound again! Not sure what it was but I got the rears working separately but they wouldn't work together. Redid the wiring on both and they're back.

Thanks for all the help guys! Glad to have music back :D

 

_________________

www.lukehimself.net

Last edited by lukey on Sun Feb 20, 2011 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names