Fordmods Logo

amp not working 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: amp not working
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

hi guys, my response amp is not working as of 2day.
ive checked the fuse from the battery, its fine, checked the 3 fuses in the amp & ok, checked ground/power & remote wires & they're ok.
wat could it be? could i have blown the amp?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Have you checked the RCA wires?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Southy wrote:
Have you checked the RCA wires?


Depends how he has it wired I guess.

Gunit - So since you said the amp isnt working as of 2day I take it that it has been running fine and now its dead.

Please provide some specs of ya amp...whats connected to it....have you tinkered with gain settings ertc on the amp at all....if subs are connected to it have u been puishing the system, hard at all, had any light dimming etc...before the possibility of the amp letting go had u been hearing any distortion or noise in the system ?

Have u at all lately played the system close to or at full volume?

Do u have another amp u can connect in its place to rule out any cabling/woofer/speaker issues?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 7:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

it was previously playing great. few days ago it was making a distorting sorta sound when i had the engine going but i connected my ground again properly & it was going sweet, no feedback. when this happened, for maybe 2 hours it wouldn't play and the red light on the amp was on, instead of the green one?
i only have 6'' splits and 6by9's running off the response 4 by 100rms amp.
i was previously playing it at around volume 19-24 on the cd player that is. was fine before, great sound but nothing now!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

gunit18 wrote:
it was previously playing great. few days ago it was making a distorting sorta sound when i had the engine going but i connected my ground again properly & it was going sweet, no feedback. when this happened, for maybe 2 hours it wouldn't play and the red light on the amp was on, instead of the green one?
i only have 6'' splits and 6by9's running off the response 4 by 100rms amp.
i was previously playing it at around volume 19-24 on the cd player that is. was fine before, great sound but nothing now!


just thinkin along the lines you might have over driven the amp or just being circumstance its let go ? are u able to borrow or get ahold of another amp from anyone to rule out the amp being the fault ?....Do u have the manual for the amp...wats the Red actually supposed to mean ?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 7:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 655

Joined: 9th Jan 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Build# 499 BF F6 TYPHOON DEJA VU

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i thought i blew mine, checked the fuses they were all good, so i took it back where it got fitted,, the problem was the main wire to the fuse was a bad conection,, check that

 

_________________

232.5 RW KILLER WASPS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

memnoch wrote:
i thought i blew mine, checked the fuses they were all good, so i took it back where it got fitted,, the problem was the main wire to the fuse was a bad conection,, check that


yeh unfortunently it could be so many things internal to the amp....connections such as that....might be worth checkin the board for shorts....any luck yet finding out wat the Red indicator is meant to let u know specifically or just that hello ive got a problem here :P?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 12:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1802

Joined: 16th Jan 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Horsham
VIC, Australia

tell you what pull it out and drop it
on the ground 5 times then try it

sorry i have a brain freez

 

_________________

EFBIGNIK 145.9 RWKW Falcon / 16.27 @ 86.72mph (Stock)
http://s60.photobucket.com/albums/h38/e ... urnout.flv
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 2:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

think the red light means overheating? i'll check the manual, i have a feeling its gone!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 2:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

gunit18 wrote:
think the red light means overheating? i'll check the manual, i have a feeling its gone!


does it have an internal fan...id say it would but dont know with the cheap amps....maybe the fan has failed and yeh now shes cooked would it still be under warranty...even though ya would have voided it bu opening the unit ?

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 425

Joined: 1st Dec 2004

Location: Noble Park
VIC, Australia

its fine now guys, i disconnected the wires from the amp and put it back together & now its working? i tried my old amp & it worked so put the response one back in & wammy! dont know why but i aint complaining!
cheers for the help too!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 04, 2006 8:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

gunit18 wrote:
its fine now guys, i disconnected the wires from the amp and put it back together & now its working? i tried my old amp & it worked so put the response one back in & wammy! dont know why but i aint complaining!
cheers for the help too!


hmm see how it goes...may have been an issue with caps not discharging properly....dunno...then gain never know could have just been a bad ground somewhwere and now its all good

anyways good stuff glad its all working

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names