Fordmods Logo

Amp problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Amp problems
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 2:03 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 193

Joined: 30th Apr 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

Hey i have installed audio systems so many times and never had a problem up untill now. The amp is wired in correctly but the amps fuse was blown. When i change the fuse and then connect the power it just blows the fuse completley. The only thing i can think of is the amp must have a short in it somewhere. Any ideas?????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: fault
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 12:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 772

Joined: 24th Mar 2005

Ride: EL FAIRMONT GHIA 97

Location: Perth Floreat
WA, Australia

I had a similar problem with mine, i cheeked the ground cable and where it was grounded to the car, the paint was not scraped away and that solved my problem, but if it isnt that, then i couldnt really tell you, unless the ground is touching the power.. other han that sorry cant help

cheers
RUSTY!

 

_________________

-------EL Fairmont Ghia with CUstome BA XR body kit-------

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 5:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

just out of curiousity, what amp is it?

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 6:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 845

Joined: 6th Mar 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Mini Cooper S Supercharged

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

To Me, It sounds like your fuse's may be to small. Just make sure that you are putting in a 30Amp Fuse. Is this isnt working, check your primary wire isnt pinched somewhere like between the back seat hinge or somthing like that. That will cause a very nice short and fry a fuse or two. Still no joy after that, you may have amp problems and may have to get a pro to check it all.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Even if the fuse was 5 amp it shouldnt blow even on power up. i would disconnect the speakers and make sure there are no strands of wire shorting out any of the terminals. if the fuse still blows with no load on the output have the amp itself checked. i would say that the output transistor(s) have shorted.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2005 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 29th Aug 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

1/ Check your grounding, make sure all connections are good and clean.

2/ If the fuse in the amplifier is blowing and the fuses at the battery/ditribution block/etc. are not blowing, then the amplifier most likely has a power regulation problem or something in the internal circuitry is shorting perhaps.

3/ Amplifier under warranty? Give your brand a call and ask them to fix it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: fixed thank god
Posted: Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:01 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 193

Joined: 30th Apr 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

found the prob loose connection inside amp all fixed thanx guys.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 7:13 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names