Fordmods Logo

amp runs out of power 

 

Page 2 of 4 [ 49 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Whats the specs on your subs?? Pretty irrelevant really, the amp is not capable of running a single 10" properly and your trying to run 2 12" off it. Dail your expectations down a bit champ, or your'e going to kill your amp and subs.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:04 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i would say maybe your alternator cant keep up with the amount of amps your car and accesories is drawing..?????

ive got a similar issue with my ea.
if im in traffic idling with the headlights on with the stereo up loud with my foot on the brake. and if the thermo fans come on or i use the indicator the amps cuts out and go into protection mode..
in day traffic without headlights on its fine..

at the moment my alternator is only a 85 amp.
so im about to upgrade to a ef 110 amp alternator..
and ill see what happens??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

ducati119 wrote:
get a more powerful amp, ur amp is too small to be running two high powered subs. get a mono block


No, it doesnt matter if theyre high or low 'powered' subs. Subs dont draw current - so theyre not high or low 'powered'. You can run a 1000000watt sub of that amp if you wanted, it wont matter a stuff to the amp, its the load/resistance the subs place on the amp which is what matters.


grub73 wrote:
Whats the specs on your subs?? Pretty irrelevant really, the amp is not capable of running a single 10" properly and your trying to run 2 12" off it. Dail your expectations down a bit champ, or your'e going to kill your amp and subs.


This is what we need to know actually - the impedance of each sub and how theyre wired together so we know the total load presented to the amp.
I agree with dialing down expectations though - my front speakers are getting more power than his subs.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

okto clarify this my gains is only quarter way up and im getting the same problem as troyman im going to be trying different methods of this like for starters is the voltage regulator and so on bty my subs is 4 ohm 250watt mtx and a 600watt jbl 4ohm

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 5:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

did i mention it only does it when its loud but when the volume sits on 23 to 24 its fine but as soon as it goes on 25 thats when i get the problem

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1320

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

its clipping
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

You said your gains were on half before. make up your mind.
You're running 2 completely different subs as well *sigh*

Troymans issue is from a crappy old underpowered alternator like he suggested - your issue is that you dont LISTEN!

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

yeah i turned the gain down abit but its still doing the same thing anyways now im running the subs on each channel like i did before which was working fine and its still working fine now so im just gonna have to face the fact either get a mono block or what not this amp of mine can run 2 subs bridged but for some reason it was doing what it was doing and now im running the subs on there own channel and not getting a 2ohm load i think that might have been the reason because if i had duel voice coil subs it would work fine but because my subs are single voice coil the amp is only saving the subs from blowing i think thats about right but correct me if im wrong and not only that but because my subs are abit old there not 2ohm compatible thats why i done abit of searching before hand to get a 2ohm load which can be done by running 2 subs that are 4ohm to a get a 2ohm stable but well the info i got was wrong

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

What cabling are you running mate?? If you are running small cables, your answer could be right there....... Amp shutting down due to insufficient supply.

Also, might like to try a capacitor?

Also, might like to try putting a system together that has components that are balanced and meant to work well together...... That amp is too small to effectively run 2x12's.

It's not unusual for revs to drop when the power windows are operating on a lot of cars, so I wouldn't be basing an assumption that your alternator is stuffed on that alone!

I would be investing in a multimeter.........

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 144

Joined: 5th Jan 2008

Ride: EA 5 speed

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

you will never get the sound you want from using that amp on those subs.

for propper useage of the subs your options are:

1 mono powering both
2 monos, 1 each sub
1 fully hektik 2 channel amp which will cost you over a grand .

Your normal sub needs around 400rms, you have to = 800 rms, and you are giving them 50rms. Pretty simple.

 

_________________

the rearing serpent sports in the mists
the flying dragon rides on the clouds
but when the clouds are gone
and the mists have cleared
they are no different from earthworms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The way you had the subs set up was presenting the amp with a 1 ohm load, (a 2ohm load shared across 2 channels, each channel will see 1 ohm) therefore running it far too hard. You would be better off running the mtx ( being the lower power sub) by itself, and bridge the amp to run it, It would probably be better to do this until you can get the setup that you want.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:07 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

halo wrote:
you will never get the sound you want from using that amp on those subs.

for propper useage of the subs your options are:

1 mono powering both
2 monos, 1 each sub
1 fully hektik 2 channel amp which will cost you over a grand .

Your normal sub needs around 400rms, you have to = 800 rms, and you are giving them 50rms. Pretty simple.



Or go for a setup like I'm about install,.... 8-)
2 x Eclipse xa1000 @ 480wrms each @ 2 ohm
1 x Eclipse 12" 2ohm dvc sub :twisted:

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Last edited by grub73 on Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 8:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

halo i have been waiting for a reply back from you but didnt did you end up selling the amp and sub?


anyways grub73 this amp cant do a 1ohm load? the way how i had it before ran perfect and it wasent running hard till i bridged the both of them thats when i got the underpowering issue hooked it back up the same way it was and it is working 100% good my geuss is that what ever it was it didnt like to be bridged or the alternator and battery couldent keep up with the juice that the amp wanted and if i was going to change anything i would go all out on jaycar products


both subs are working fine but if they where dvc subs then i wouldent need to post this as i can get a 2ohm load bridged with out headaches its just what i got told thats all

ps im running 8g amp wire

ps again both subs are running fine on each channel just isent as punchy when it was bridged but i still reckon that i need to get new subs but that all can wait till i get my rego out of the way and i only have till the 16th of may and i havent even got a pink slip yet and i need new rear tyres

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

[anyways grub73 this amp cant do a 1ohm load? ]


My point exactly, the amp can't run a 1 ohm load, but that is how you had it set up trying to do, and because it wasn't designed to do so , is shutting down when pushed.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 10:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 251

Joined: 22nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EF XR6 manual

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Should be ok the way you have it now, just don't push it too hard cos it can still stuff your subs by clipping, that is sending batery voltage straight to your voice coils. I would personaly set it up with the MTX sub bridged across both channels.

 

_________________

EF XR6 5spd 14.57@97mph
154rwkwts

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 4  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:44 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names