Fordmods Logo

amp runs out of power 

 

Page 1 of 4 [ 49 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
 Post subject: amp runs out of power
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 7:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

hey all i have a apline 2ch amp running 2x12inch subs there bothed bridged at a 2 ohm stable now my problem is when i turn it up the amp kinda of lacks in power like what i mean is the amp will run and then turn off when the car is running but when the car is turned of it runs fine is it time for a new alternator or just a new voltage regulator

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:14 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

is it turning off due to over heating? Does the protection light come on when it shuts off?

Your amp might be overheating when your car is running and when your car is running, the amp can draw up to 14Vs off the battery and alternator thus allowing the amp to produce more power. Though when your car is off, it can only draw as much as 12V which is the capacity of the battery and so the amp doesn't overheat when you crank it.

Depends how powerful the amp is compared to your subs as well as how much power in total. Amp may also be too small for the kind of sound level you are asking.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I'd say the amps clipping because it isnt tuned correctly.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

well no it doesent over heat it only does it when a stronge bass note comes on like it cant handle it and the bass is up on 2 on the head unit and its only a 300watt amp and then the amp will turn off then back on like it struggles because of hardly any power getting into the amp my gain is turned up half way aswell

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Maybe you have a dodgy earth. I think you should put one sub on each channel - not have them wired together.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

nope no dodgy earth the subs are actually bridged at a 2ohm stable and it worked fine with the subs on each channel so im geussing is that my alternator isent keeping up with the flow to recharge my battery which equals to a worn out voltage regulator on the alternator to keep the battery charged at all times or i need a new alternator

i was actually thinking of upgrading the alternator from a ef into a tx5 which i have read on mx6.com that it can be done

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Last edited by tx5_reaper on Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 10:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

nope no dodgy earth the subs are actually bridged at a 2ohm stable and it worked fine with the subs on each channel so im geussing is that my alternator isent keeping up with the flow to recharge my battery which equals to a worn out voltage regulator on the alternator to keep the battery charged at all times or i need a new alternator

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if the subs are in parallel and the amp is bridged, then your effectively running a 1 ohm load. That is why the amp is cutting out - to protect iteself. You will find your amp is 2 ohm stable, but only in stereo mode.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 11:58 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: 94 Futura

Location: Midland
WA, Australia

What 66 Coupe said - speakers don't have a 2R stable rating, Since you not surprising supplied no useful information I'd suggest your amp is stable into >=4Ù in bridge mode. Look at your amp specs.

Cheers,
C

P.S. Your 'reasoning' on the alternator is wrong too.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Which is why I said to run one sub per channel. 2 4ohm subs = 2ohm load - bridged to amp = 1 ohm load.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 5:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

Commando wrote:
What 66 Coupe said - speakers don't have a 2R stable rating, Since you not surprising supplied no useful information I'd suggest your amp is stable into >=4Ù in bridge mode. Look at your amp specs.

Cheers,
C

P.S. Your 'reasoning' on the alternator is wrong too.



i know the voltage regulator is going on my alternator because when i i press the button for the window to go up you can feel the car drop in revs

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

ok here is the spec on of my amp

alpine v-power mrp-t130

High-quality Alpine power in an affordable amplifier! Alpine uses the same premium quality and engineering that it puts into its V12 amplifiers to make the V-Power amps. That means you'll get strong, steady, dependable output. With a rugged look and high-tech features, the V-Power series has an amplifier for nearly any need.

The MRP-T130 is a versatile amplifier, punching out 50 watts RMS per channel in stereo mode, 130 watts in bridged mode. The power-enhancing Bass Engine® gives you a built-in crossover with a clean 18 dB per octave cut-off. Turn on the tuned Bass EQ for an 8 dB boost at 50 Hz to enhance the bass output. The speaker-level inputs let you add one of these amps to any car stereo.

Details:
50 watts RMS x 2 at 4 ohms
65 watts RMS x 2 at 2 ohms
130 watts RMS x 1 bridged output
stereo or bridged mono output
Tri-way capable (Tri-Way Crossover required)
requires 10-gauge power and ground leads — wiring and hardware not included with amplifier
Bass Engine® features:
selectable 80 Hz high-pass/low-pass crossover, 18 dB/octave
tuned Bass EQ (8 dB bass boost at 50 Hz)
MOSFET power supply
STAR Topology (minimizes internal noise and prevents ground interference)
speaker- and preamp-level inputs
gold-plated screw terminals
blue power LED
8-11/16"W x 2-5/16"H x 10"D
1-year warranty

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 475

Joined: 18th Nov 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: telstar tx5

Location: windsor
NSW, Australia

rember this amp is only controlling 2 subs and nothing else the rest of the speakers are connected on my 4ch amp

 

_________________

!* Banned *!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 6:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

that wouldnt be the reg, that more likely would be the battery, and possibly your base idle setting could affect this aswell (ecu uses voltage to calculate injector pulse width as well)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 9:39 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 365

Joined: 14th Feb 2006

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

get a more powerful amp, ur amp is too small to be running two high powered subs. get a mono block

 

_________________

Real Men Smoke Rubber

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 4  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:35 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names