Fordmods Logo

Amp shutting down cos not enough power 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Amp shutting down cos not enough power
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey guys, two months ago i installed an F545 v12 in my car. Now two weeks ago it starting turning itself off and coming up with a "CUR" signal on the screen. The "CUR" means current. In the book it say there is too much, but the car radio guy says there it can also mean there is not enough. Now my problem is that it only shuts down when i crank it up. I cannot understand how come it never did it before and does it now. i am really p****d off because i cant crank it up as much anymore without it turning off and me having to turn the HU off so the amp resets itself.

Any ideas what has happened to my electrical system to make it turn off.

Cheers guys.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Mine did EXACTLY the same thing

there was two problems causing it:

1. Bad ground (which hurt it but wasnt the nail in the coffin)
2. My fuse holder (aeropro) is ever so slightly the wrong size and doesnt hold the fuse tightly enough. So the fuse rattled, sometimes it was passing current through, sometimes not.

That would explain the not enough current signal.

Solution: for now: a coil of solder in the end of the fuse holder. sits nice and snug now
for down the track: will try and find a nice fuse holder one day.

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:00 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Maybe it's heat related. Now being hotter than onths ago.

And I've had #2 like nicco above as well. It's been replaced, and I'm now upgrade all my wiring too (prob tomorrow).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2005 11:40 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 350

Joined: 22nd Aug 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

would a capacitor fix this problem?

 

_________________

EF Futura factory 5 spd
Pacemaker 4480 w/ Redback cat back 2 1/2
RPD Rspec4 cam with Ported Head
RPD Rocker Gear
RPD MS2 ECU

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 12:11 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

no

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 6:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i got a cap and no it cant be heat because i can make it happen in the first 10secs of being on. Thanks nicco for the info, well actually my fuse holder was an aeropro and had s**t contact. So i replaced it with one of those pro stinger type with a fuse that looks like a 's' at one end and 'u' at the other. Might have to check out whats happening with the ground cable, for ground i have the four gauge out of the amp going to a bolt onto the metal where one of the back shockers are. i have the paint sanded but i'll check it out. I would also need to check the extra cable i got going from the body to the battery.

Cheers and i'll get back to ya.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 4:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

do you reckon getting a dual battery setup would fix it. It wouldn't be hard for me to set one up but would it end my probs 100%
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:01 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 334

Joined: 7th May 2005

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

without know the exact problem no. forst do the cheap stuff like change your ground, clean your contacts, check your fuse holder. it should easily get enouh current from one battery especially considering it is using the alternator once the cars on.

why waste money on a dual battery setup when i doubt it would fix the problem?

Rhyso

 

_________________

BA XT, typhoon intake, K&N filter, XR 17" wheels, red/black brakes, Ford scuff plates

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1372

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: Lancer Coupe

Location: Southeastern suburbs, Melbourne
VIC, Australia

checked all that and its all good.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 11:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names