Fordmods Logo

Amp somehow leaving itself on. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 27 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Amp somehow leaving itself on.
Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 6:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hey guys.

After my dash loom swap, i have found a bizzare problem with my amp, here is a run down of the car's system.

EF Mont headunit
Alpine stacker
JL splits run off headunit
JVC amp running off rear speaker outputs
sony subwoofer.

Its a simple system, and has always worked fine. The problem that has arose is i noticed this arvo that the amp is somehow on all the time. I am pretty sure its only been doing that for a few days. The thing is, it doesn't even have the remote connected at the moment, as i disconnected it during the loom swap.

How the f**k is it doing that? Is it somehow f**k?

The amp is only 2 months old.

Thanks guys

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

Not somehow shorting across between the power and remote?

otherwise maybe something in it is messed up like mine.

Is it actually running the sub, or just like the power light or fan running. mines messed up somehow as the fan runs constant. but only powers the sub when remotes connected.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 26, 2008 7:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

No the sub works aswell. I had to pull the fuses out of it to turn it off.

The Barstard

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 1:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 624

Joined: 7th Jul 2008

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

sounds like a remote wire issue to me. had the same problem with the ef. the wiring harness was stuffed. were running the remote wire off the ciggy port power wire. so as soon as accessories come on the amp does
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yeah but i completly removed the remote wire, and it continued to do it. The problem must be the internal relay the amp has. They sure dont make s**t to last anymore.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Last edited by PIMP_LTD on Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 12:05 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 89

Joined: 2nd Nov 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: bf xr8 ute & 67 fastback mustang

Power: 294 rwkw

Location: modbury north
SA, Australia

have you got any power going to the remote spot at all because it needs power to fire up. when i did mine the remote came from the deck and then to the amp .

 

_________________

DRIVE HER STRAIGHT SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

PIMP_LTD wrote:
Yeah but i completly removed the remote wire, and it continued to do it.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:24 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 89

Joined: 2nd Nov 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: bf xr8 ute & 67 fastback mustang

Power: 294 rwkw

Location: modbury north
SA, Australia

Have you tryed it with the remote wire back in .

 

_________________

DRIVE HER STRAIGHT SIDEWAYS

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Yes, and the car started playing up again.

Power is being pushed out the remote terminal on the amp, so even with the key off, all accessories are being switched on and is confusing the BEM. This is what caused the f**k up in my dash loom, and why i had to change it.

Also, the barstard has been draining my battery without my knoledge, and its only been the last couple of weeks that i've noticed (because the car hasn't been driven due to the dash loom prob) and i think its too late and f**k my battery.

Damn it

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:39 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

if the amp isnt that old, take it to the shop and they can test it for you.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:40 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4849

Joined: 19th Feb 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA Falcon Suzy Across

Power: 178 rwkw

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

reason i suggest this is cause once you open the amp, you'll see a s**t of circuitry and it isn't easy to wokout why its doing something wrong.

 

_________________

178.3 rwkw
15.1@96 mph
Now with 3.9 shrooms

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 10:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yeah i already tried that. I'm not bad with electronics, but this is way out of my league to fix. I didn't keep the reciept, and possibly not the box, but i know the guy and i think he'll give me a store credit atleast.

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:43 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 2337

Joined: 25th Apr 2008

Ride: Boxcar Love

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Well it turns out after talking on the phone to autobarn, and them saying "no worries we'll look after you" i just drove down the to cop "you should have kept your reciept, we can't do s**t"

f**k you autobarn, you've changed, you used to be cool.

Anyone want to by an amp that needs an external relay?? lol :D:D

 

_________________

Commodore australia's favorite car??? What a load of s**t
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

Yeah, standard f**k, I've got same problem with my battery hell it even has a sticker with a year on it.
Well since I've got a similar problem with my amp and am about to do so, is it a 4 way, haha.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 04, 2009 1:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 17

Joined: 1st Jan 2009

Ride: Fairlane NA

Location: Colac
VIC, Australia

two things immediatly spring to mind here...

1, Not an uncommon problem is internally developing a bridge in the power supply area causing the amp to turn on and stay on...

2, Some amplifiers in particular new ones, don't require a turn on wire... They sense the voltage from the speakers wires and switch the amp on that way. Check to see if your amp is capable of this. If so, then check your speakers wires for voltage....
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:23 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names