Fordmods Logo

Amp wiring/selection 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Amp wiring/selection
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

just a bit of a pie in the sky idea i have in my head at the moment.

i wouldnt mind buying a second, bigger amp to run in my car.

currently i have a 200W clarion, which i would re route to the front speakers.

i want this (see pic) amp for the sub.

how would i go about wiring the amps up?

do you run one fat power cable from the battery to the boot then have a distribution block or something like that? What would be the minimum gauge of wiring for a job like that?

What are capacitors really for? would the system be even close to that serious?

Would i need anything else that i dont know about other just basic wiring stuff?


Just trying to get it all clear in my head before i get to carried away

thanks,
Nic

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: Me likes this amp!
Image143.jpg
Image143.jpg [ 349.38 KiB | Viewed 20 times ]

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Last edited by nicco on Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 1:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 39

Joined: 23rd Nov 2006

Ride: Falcon XC

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

Well...
I'm running two amps in my falcon at the moment, a 300w & an 800w. Using the standard 400w wiring kit i got from Repco for 30 bucks.
All i did was run the amps in parallel by splicing the wires from the terminals on the larger amp and running the same guage wires to the smaller amp & it sounds great. You COULD use a D block and do things the 'aesthetically pleasing' way but basically all that does is add resistance. Just make sure your in-line fuses near the battery are big enough to handle the power, and your amps have decent fuses in them too. I doubt your system would be powerful enough to need one of those huge capacitor things, unless you think you'd keep experiencing power drain. but yeah. Just wire em' up like i said, see how it sounds, and if you want to tidy things up with a D block, go for it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

d block is distribution block i am guessing?

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

nicco, not be be an a** or anything but most ifnot all your questions are actually covered in the stickys

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 3:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

*hangs head in shame*

sorry bout that, didnt even think to check them.

will do soon.

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 11:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

alrighty i've checked all of the docos. and they did answer all my questions.

thanks.


but now i have more. :lol: (always keen to learn more! ha ha)

I have come across someone on ebay selling brand new monoblock kenwood amps
(Ebay Amp)
for only 50 more than the 2 channel at wow (picture above)

Specs are:
Monoblock:
4 Ohm @ 14.4V - 500 Watts rms × 1 (20-200Hz, .5%THD)

2 Channel:
14.4V - 500W rms x 1 at Bridged 1kHz 0.8%THD (4Ħ)

going off what i read in aarons tutes, the monoblock would be better for running the sub as the power is spread over the freq range of the sub. right?

also, what is thd? i didnt see anything in aarons tutes on it. is it important?

also, the sub i have currently is a 400watt rms. would it damage it running a 500w rms amp?

cheers guys

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names