Fordmods Logo

Antenna wiring problem 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Antenna wiring problem
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:21 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 33

Joined: 13th Jan 2005

Ride: XR6 EF

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Hi. I had a manual antenna on my ef xr6 and want to change it to a fully automatic one. I've bought a aerpro fully automatic antenna and they have instructions on the back but they miss out a wire. On the instructions they talk about a red and a green wire, a black wire that plugs into the antenna, another black wire that is the earth wire but there is a third black wire that I don't know where it goes. I've read http://www.fordmods.com/forums/Power-An ... l-d69.html and it doesn't mention it there either. Has anyone fitted on of these and know what it's for?

Also. I'm no good with the wires and such in the car. If anyone can tell me where to wire it up to that would also be awesome. I would like to wire it up so that they antenna comes up when the radio turns on. I'd rather not have a switch if I can avoid it.

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:24 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The third one will most likely be the remote wire. Goes to the back of the head unit which tells the antenna when the radio is on. It's the same principle with the amplifier remote wire.

phong =P~~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:43 am 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 4653

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Drives Like Fun

Power: 318 rwkw

Location: Melbourne Interior: Cappucino Exterior: Sparkling Burgundy
VIC, Australia

As Phong said - alternatively if you do not have an Aftermarket headunit, you can wire it to accessories or something, so that it turns on when the car starts - not as ideal...but hey.

There is also some reading on this when wiring it up to the half up / half down aerial button found in fairmonts / Ghias etc.

Do a search - this has been covered a few times.

Good luck with it !

 

_________________

Vic Cruises & Events

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 33

Joined: 13th Jan 2005

Ride: XR6 EF

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I thought it might be the sensing wire but if you've seen one of these units, the extra black wire doesn't come through with the gromit which, if ment to connect within the car, I thought it would. I'll have a play around and see what happens.

Also, in a lot of units they use here seem to have the red and green wire going into a plug. The wires on this one are just bare. I know they have to connect to power but I don't know the best place to put them.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:30 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names