Fordmods Logo

audio package for EF FAIRMONT 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: audio package for EF FAIRMONT
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 6:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1938

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 31 images

Ride: G6E TURBO

Location: THE DRUITT
NSW, Australia

in the MRS fairmont it has a mid series deck with a 6 stacker in the boot but no AMP & no SUB.
I know GHIA's come standard with amp & sub so would it be hard to change the wiring set up to accomidate the amp & sub or a piece off piss?
can it be done under $75

 

_________________

MEMBER 1390

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Feb 04, 2005 10:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

not sure about under $75 but the easiest way would be to get hold of an amp which has a High input (speakers from HU into amp) then to get hold of a 8" sub, the sub will be the hard part...not sure if there is already 12v and remote ran to the boot in fairmonts.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 6:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

definatly 12v ran into the boot of the fairmonts, there is another cable, but i dont know if thats remote...any ideas on how to test?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 10:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

duz anyone know what the wires are for
Plug one:
Yellow - +12
Black - Ground
Light Blue - ?

Plug 2
Light Blue - ?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the other is for remote, not sure if its connected on the mid series deck. easiest wat to find out is read volts when HU is off and on.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

sorry from memory the single plug with blue wire was remote. i have an el fairmont ghia and have upgraded the strereo system.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

i ran a multi meter over it...doesnt seem to be connected! dammit!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the only other way is to run it from the antenna controller from the HU, that can be found by putting ur meters across the output wire which i think is yellow and black. does the mis series unit lower the antenna when Cd is on?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

yes, if you use the radio the antenna will go up...when you turn it off it will come back down. would there be a way to use the speakers?
or u'd have to make a switch for it **sigh**

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 19, 2005 11:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

OMFG! i have all the wiring for the Premium deck! thats awsome!

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

well there you go !! have fun hehe
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

how much would a premium deck cost me?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

seriously i had one and found it a pain in the butt to pull over to chance cd's. you would be alot better off getting a new HU that plays mp3, that way you have say 120 songs per disc and if they do get knocked off you still have the originals at home. you can get a decent unit for around $350. I know ill get shot for this but id recommend a JVC KD-G805. It has line out (front, rear and sub), auto dimmer, seperate antenna and remote out (antenna down when playing CD). but the problem with the factory speakers is that they are crap!!! click on link to check out more on the HU.

http://www.jvc-australia.com/products/_ ... sp?ID=1271
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 12:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

we've already got a stacker, and i use my ipod with this one neways ;) should be able to pick them up cheap shouldnt i?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:09 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i sold my complete premium system for $180, double din HU, amp, 8 inch sub and double din surround. personally it wasnt worth much more as it is almost 8 years old.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names