Fordmods Logo

Audio system wired to stock or aftermarket head unit? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 3 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Audio system wired to stock or aftermarket head unit?
Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 10:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 2

Joined: 27th Feb 2012

Ride: Ford falcon ba

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey everyone,

I'm thinking about wiring a sound system (sub, amp and 2x speakers in speaker boxes) into my existing stock ba falcon head unit. Is this possible by tapping into the current audio wiring? Or do I need to buy an adaptor and install my aftermarket head unit that has the necessary plugs for my amp and speakers? Any advice is much appreciated (:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Audio system wired to stock or aftermarket head unit?
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:43 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 138

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: '96 EL Ford Fairmonth Ghia.

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Aaronsquif wrote:
Hey everyone,

I'm thinking about wiring a sound system (sub, amp and 2x speakers in speaker boxes) into my existing stock ba falcon head unit. Is this possible by tapping into the current audio wiring? Or do I need to buy an adaptor and install my aftermarket head unit that has the necessary plugs for my amp and speakers? Any advice is much appreciated (:


The speakers you would be able to piggy back on the system, but the amp will need to be separately wired and the sub won't work properly without it. You can buy RCA converters for the leads to the amp to be able to go into the head unit, but imo, you'd be better off just looking for an aftermarket head unit. You can get JVC head units which have bluetooth into your phone so it'll take calls etc for about $199.

Hope this helps.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Audio system wired to stock or aftermarket head unit?
Posted: Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:28 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 2

Joined: 27th Feb 2012

Ride: Ford falcon ba

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

got an RCA converter and everything is all hooked up now. But thanks anyway for your help
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 3 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 5:55 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names