Fordmods Logo

Audioline amp problem 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 16 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Audioline amp problem
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 12:35 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 237

Joined: 7th Jan 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6 Falcon

Location: Hawthorn
VIC, Australia

Can someone tell me, I have walked into JB and bought myself an Audioline 4 Chanel Amp and I am now getting concerned because I have read other Forums where some people have loved them and other people call them a piece of crap, if anybody has had any expirence with this brand please help me. Here is also what I have got in my car already:

Pioneer Head Unit
JL Audio 6 x 9 3 way speakers
Vnet 12 inch Sub 600watts

 

_________________

Jesus Drove Fords

Proud Owner of a XR6 MkII

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:51 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 395

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BF II XR6 Turbo Ute

Location: Melb
VIC, Australia

verry happy with there 1000wrms dig mono block

 

_________________

No dose No Care

P.B of 12.2@118 with more in it!!!!

Formerly known as ebturb

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 5:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2351

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: Blown XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I had a couple of them in my old ED, never had a problem with them.
The only thing you'd notice is that you get what you pay for sound wise.
I'd really like to see what output they are actually getting compared to what they claim.
Apart from that, never had a problem in about 3 years of use.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 967

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: TE50

Location: Brisvegas
QLD, Australia

yeh same, had 2 of em and they ran fine all time every time. real power is a mystery but as long as its enough for whet you want, they're great

 

_________________

Formerly SpuDEF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 6:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 967

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: TE50

Location: Brisvegas
QLD, Australia

yeh same, had 2 of em and they ran fine all time every time. real power is a mystery but as long as its enough for whet you want, they're great

 

_________________

Formerly SpuDEF

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:15 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

if you really wanted to find out the power of this amp, get a dummy load, hook it up, feed say 13.8 or 14.4 volts through it, you'd need it at quite a considerable amperage, just put it in the car, start the car.

And then measure the current and resistance.

And P = IxR

P is power in watts
I = is currents in Amperes
and R is resistance in watts.

The dummy load needs to be pretty big though... looks like a heater lol. And waht you put in, you'll probably get like 50-60% back due to inefficiency.

So feed the amp 2000 watts of power, and you'll get like 1000ish.

If you wanna know the distortion, and things like that, get either a CRO (expensive osciloscope), or an LCD osciloscope, and up the power till you see flat spots curing in the wave.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 22, 2005 7:23 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Oh, and about Audio Line, Ive heard some impressive stuff about them. There's always gonna be likers and whingers. If the product is trully crap, then the whingers wouldn't just say its a piece of crap, but give you a valid reason, which would convince one not to buy one. Say, there's like 5 people which say that there amp cuts out above 1/4 way on the level adjuster. But I think that some people just have a bad setup all together.
You can't just put a system in a car, it needs to be to some extent matched, and tuned. And an amp powers a sub, meaning the quality of the amp can be either restricted or evident with the type of sub used.
But saying all that, Ive read good things about them.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:10 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 332

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Maybe I'll be the first to say they're crap?! :P I've only owned one, and will never own another again. But that's just me. If that's all you can afford, then there's not much else to look at. If you have the money to get a decent amp, then obviously go for quality.

I had an Audioline amp powering a couple of speakers and the sound wasn't crash hot (read: crap). I upgraded to a low-end Pioneer amplifier and the sound blew it away - even though they were rated at very similar power outputs. Bass was tighter (by far) and mids and highs were vastly improved.

From now on I will only buy the best I can afford because I love my sound quality :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 8:57 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 237

Joined: 7th Jan 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6 Falcon

Location: Hawthorn
VIC, Australia

Thanks for all the info, too Xrated who said it was crap, thats a fair comment, I mean if I wanted all Bass and no quality I could have stuck some 6 x 9 inch other brand in, instead of the JL speakers which cost a bit by the way, but yeah what you where saying about the budget thing, I sort of wanted the best possible 4 chanell amp whilst sticking to my Budget, i.e $350 installed.

I looked at Boss and I thought they had some pretty good sounding gear for my Budget, but then one of my mates punched me in the face when I mentioned those words.

Note to self.........Dont mention Boss Audio around my mates :wink:

 

_________________

Jesus Drove Fords

Proud Owner of a XR6 MkII

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 11:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

ebjamie wrote:
I looked at Boss and I thought they had some pretty good sounding gear for my Budget, but then one of my mates punched me in the face when I mentioned those words.

Note to self.........Dont mention Boss Audio around my mates :wink:


LOL ha ha i did the same to my step bro, no offense but Boss Audio is cheap and nasty. For not much more $$ you can get AXIS Audio gear now thats a good quality brand. :P

I have a 2 Channel Axis audio amp only about 150-200wrms at most and that thing makes my fat a** Alpine sub move a fair bit. :)

Im very happy with it, however i am looking at getting another AXIS amp soon as i want to get splits for the front so the old amp will power them.

Also AXIS audio is fairly inexpensive considering thier build quality.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 12:09 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 332

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Oh, I haven't personally tried their gear, but apparently Jaycar Audio's Response stuff is very good quality for the price. It's worth a look anyway.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

Dude, boss is the pure s##t. i have cursedit enough in other forums so won't bother again. Audioline aren't to bad, it is a matter of getting what you paid for, i personnally don't like the qaulity of there sound. I have installed a few and well problems were found. they ran quite hot and i was sure they didn't put out the power they were apparently rated for. There are better brands out there, again it depends on what you want and how much you want to spend, low end pioneer and kenwood amps are good for nice clean consistant power, older V12 alpine amps are awesome if ya can get your hands on them. or if your on a really tight budget Jaycar response have awesome power for $$$ spent....

In saying this you have already got it, if you intend on using it give it plenty of power using 8ga or 4ga power cable and give i plenty of breathing space to keep her cool
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

axis amps are pretty good yes.
and the fact i get them at wholesale rates makes them ever better :)

value for money IMO, you cant go past jaycars repsonse range.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

ch0c0 wrote:
axis amps are pretty good yes.
and the fact i get them at wholesale rates makes them ever better :)

value for money IMO, you cant go past jaycars repsonse range.


Um you should get my next Axis amp for me then lol :D Ha ha might save a bit. Freight would only be about $10-$15 if you sent it over my way..... :wink:

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2005 1:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

yeh let me know and ill see waht i can do.

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:44 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names