Fordmods Logo

Aux Input EL Ghia 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Aux Input EL Ghia
Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:10 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 137

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairlane Ghia

Location: Lithgow
NSW, Australia

Hey Guys,

This is a little embarrasing but I cannot figure out to do wire up the aux input for the EL Ghia as listed in the Technical Documents.

I am hoping someone can give me a hand. I am getting stuck when I go to splice into the dsp plug. The instructions do not make sense to me.

Can anyone help me out?

Regards,
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input EL Ghia
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:43 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

It's not the DSP plug you need to wire into... Its the CD stacker plug which plugs into the bottom right (when looking from the rear) of the DSP unit.

You'll need to cut the outer covering back a bit to expose the wires you need. From memory the signal wires are inside a shielded cable, and they are only very thin, so they aren't too hard to identify.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input EL Ghia
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:24 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 137

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BF Fairlane Ghia

Location: Lithgow
NSW, Australia

Thanks, but I am still confused.

I have the cd stacker plug, it is shown below

Attachment:
File comment: Cd Stacker / DSP
03032011152a.jpg
03032011152a.jpg [ 205.91 KiB | Viewed 49 times ]


Here is the aux input

Attachment:
File comment: Aux Input
03032011153a.jpg
03032011153a.jpg [ 210.41 KiB | Viewed 62 times ]


Can someone please identify exactly which wires need to be cut into and which wires need to be connected to the aux input?

I don't want to blow anything up

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Aux Input EL Ghia
Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 12:51 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 5051

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Kia Rio - 1.4L Auto

Power: 238 rwkw

Location: Westside
VIC, Australia

In the photo of of the stacker plug, the red and white wires on the left of the plug are your signal wires. The exposed copper wires that come out of the sheath further up on the left is the ground.

As for the socket, you will need to get the pinouts of the socket from whoever you bought it from. You should only need 3 wires out of it. The left, right and ground. Just need to find which of the tabs on the bottom correspond to these signals.

When you know that, splice the appropriate channels into the red and white stacker wires. I cant remember which colour is which channel, but if you look on your TV or DVD player, it will have the channels and their colours. Then just solder the ground wire from the socket to the exposed copper on that loom.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:16 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names