Fordmods Logo

BA falcon factory Stereo and CD-RW's 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA falcon factory Stereo and CD-RW's
Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 3:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 26

Joined: 8th Dec 2004

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Folks...

Finally replaced Big ED with Bazza the BA....

Geez ain't the stock CD players fun?

I have a variety of (legally burnt from i-tunes) CD-R's and CD-RW's,
of varying brands and wanted to share the experience...

All the CD-R's play OK.....even if it takes the player a few seconds
to cotton on to the fact that it ain't a bought one....

At first - all the CD-RW's wouldn't play......but
removing them and putting them back in a few times seemed to wake
the player up.

interestingly - the expensive name brand CD-RW's gave a lot of trouble....but the non-branded ones picked up at the $2 shop ($2 for a pack of 10) seemed to work OK pretty quickly.

Some of these have been sitting in my old car for years.....
one i burrned fresh last night with said i-tunes and on the same PC will not play for love nor money.

Any other folk out there with a similar experience, who perhaps has found a cure?

cheers,

 

_________________

I'd rather push my Ford than drive a holden

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 21, 2007 4:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 17

Joined: 7th May 2007

Ride: 01 SR Falcon

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

exactly the same problem in my au3. i just found that feeding it continuously got it going as u say.

mine only started out doing it with burnt cd's, and then it started doing it with real cd's, even brand new ones of the shelf !

after awhile, the old one coped my foot to it, and it was time for a new one. i suggest u do the same .

:D

 

_________________

2001 'SR' Falcon .
- Pacemaker extractors.
- 2.5 inch Redback Zorst.
- 18'' Xr8 rims.

#30 Aussie Racing Car series 06 .

#19 SNL CL .

The Tez

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 12:40 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Don't use CD-RW's they're of dubious readability in non-PC drives.

CD-R's are cheap as chips these days. doesn't matter is you burn a heap of them.

I found no problems with the stock ICC reading a bunch of different (expensive, and cheapie) CD-Rs, for the few weeks I used it before completely replacing the stereo.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 2:00 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

I think you'll find that due to the differing dye types/laser strength used between CDR/RW brands, you may need to try a number of brands to find something that the car unit likes. But as mentioned, CDR's would be the easiest option for compatibility I'd say - due to the stronger laser strength used to burn.

Now that the BA units are a few years old, the laser may struggle reading newer media discs. Unlike PC CDROM/DVD drives, it'd be considerably harder updating the firmware in the car units, to recognise newer type media.
When you burn your discs, do you close the sessions off properly ??, e.g. They're not multisession ??

IIRC, they was a thread and tech doco on here explaining how to add MP3 capability through the AUX leads, e.g. to fit an Ipod, etc. I think that may've been for E series though.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 9:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

i dont understand why people fit aftermarket stereos to BA's/BF's, when they can get their ICC upgraded by ASL to do everything they want to do, and keep the stock look
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 10:18 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

hahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahhahahahah

Can ASL, make it play MP3's? DVD's? Multiple inputs? DVD-A? HD-CD? High Sound Quality?

No.

Sure the ICC is good enough for most people, but not everyone, and there's plenty of good and legitimate reasons to add an aftermarket HU. And it isn't all that hard, and with careful choice you can make them fit in. Mine matchs the silver ICC, and blue ICC/cluster lighting.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 22, 2007 10:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 110

Posts: 379

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Predator

Location: HERVEY BAY
QLD, Australia

mabey because its cheaper? and whats the point in "moding your car to look stock?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: yeah
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:20 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 99

Joined: 9th May 2007

Ride: xr6 Series 3 vct

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

yeah dont know what the go with that is i had it in the AU and just went aftermarket headunit
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 2:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 948

Joined: 3rd Mar 2006

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BA XR6 Ute

Location: Brisbane - Perth
QLD, Australia

data_mine wrote:
hahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahhahahahah

Can ASL, make it play MP3's? DVD's? Multiple inputs? DVD-A? HD-CD? High Sound Quality?

No.

.


YES...... IF you go all the way and also purchase the Apline hub system, you can play anything through the Premium Setup or plug in your XBOX etc., Go do your research and then Come back...

 

_________________

nascentes morimur

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 5:09 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hang on, you're still buying after market stuff (you can buy very good HUs for the price of a Alpine Hub, or RF 360.2 etc).

Does this really look that much out of place?
Image
(and it lights up blue the same as the cluster/dash)

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 25, 2007 5:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 948

Joined: 3rd Mar 2006

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: BA XR6 Ute

Location: Brisbane - Perth
QLD, Australia

Does when you have manual, try changin cd's when ur in 3rd or 5th.and it makes all your button useless on ya dash

 

_________________

nascentes morimur

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:58 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names