Fordmods Logo

BA premium sound amp 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA premium sound amp
Posted: Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:20 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 2

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: Ford Falcon BA

Location: Woillongong
NSW, Australia

Own an 05 BA without premium sound and wanted to keep things as stock as possible.

Picked up an amp from a premium BA system and was wondering what kind of specs it had (rated power @ Xohms etc).

Will be using LOC's from the rear speakers -> RCA's to the amp, replacement headunit is not an option.

Just concerned about having to unplug the car battery as I don't have the code on hand and it will cost a pretty penny to acquire it from Ford (again: damn cheap b@stards :evil: ).

How would I go about powering the unit? I'd rather avoid having to unplug the battery,

EDIT: Further reading lead me to finding out what the wires to the phone input were for:
Black = ground
Black & Yellow trace = accessories 12v
Green = mute
Yellow = constant 12v

So would I be able to power the amp directly from this using the accessories and constant wires.
REM -> acc
Batt -> constant
Ground -> chassis

Any help appreciated cheers.

Image
Side of the amp with RCA input, speaker outs and power connections.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA premium sound amp
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:03 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

mattyBA wrote:
Own an 05 BA without premium sound and wanted to keep things as stock as possible.

Picked up an amp from a premium BA system and was wondering what kind of specs it had (rated power @ Xohms etc).


Not sure exactly that one looks very different to the one I got in my BF. You don't get much though.

Quote:

Will be using LOC's from the rear speakers -> RCA's to the amp, replacement headunit is not an option.

Just concerned about having to unplug the car battery as I don't have the code on hand and it will cost a pretty penny to acquire it from Ford (again: damn cheap b@stards :evil: ).


There's no code to worry about. The ICC learns the serial number of the BEM, and only cops out if you change on or the other. Power loss won't hurt it.

Quote:

How would I go about powering the unit? I'd rather avoid having to unplug the battery,

EDIT: Further reading lead me to finding out what the wires to the phone input were for:
Black = ground
Black & Yellow trace = accessories 12v
Green = mute
Yellow = constant 12v

So would I be able to power the amp directly from this using the accessories and constant wires.
REM -> acc
Batt -> constant
Ground -> chassis

Any help appreciated cheers.

Image
Side of the amp with RCA input, speaker outs and power connections.


Pic looks nothing like what I got. Mine has no RCA's, and only powers the sub (with about 30W lol)

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA premium sound amp
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:10 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 2

Joined: 19th Oct 2009

Ride: Ford Falcon BA

Location: Woillongong
NSW, Australia

data_mine wrote:
mattyBA wrote:
Will be using LOC's from the rear speakers -> RCA's to the amp, replacement headunit is not an option.

Just concerned about having to unplug the car battery as I don't have the code on hand and it will cost a pretty penny to acquire it from Ford (again: damn cheap b@stards :evil: ).


There's no code to worry about. The ICC learns the serial number of the BEM, and only cops out if you change on or the other. Power loss won't hurt it.


Hmm the reason I'm concerned is when I originally owned an EL and when the battery died on that I had to pay for the code. That's a nice change :)

data_mine wrote:
mattyBA wrote:
OP


Pic looks nothing like what I got. Mine has no RCA's, and only powers the sub (with about 30W lol)


Hmm might be from an AU then, either way I'm not fussed it was cheap as dirt and will be plenty for what I need.

Seeing as I won't have to worry about acquiring the code I'll go ahead with a standard install, using the phone acc wire for the rem line of the amp.

If anyone else wants to add anything it'd be appreciated.

Thanks for your reply.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA premium sound amp
Posted: Tue Oct 20, 2009 10:57 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Looking at the brown fuse on it (7.5A?) the most you'd get from it is 90W (assuming 100% efficiency :lol: )

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names