Fordmods Logo

BA Premo Amp Pinout? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA Premo Amp Pinout?
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 1:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,

A friend of mine is wanting to install his subs and headunit into his BA. What we're wondering is if we can keep it stock looking and leave the stock amp in the car, but wire RCA connectors onto the headunit end and use it with the aftermarket headunit.

Is this possible? And if so, which wires do we need to solder connectors onto?

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 01, 2007 11:33 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 23rd Oct 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I haven't heard of any RCA inputs for the Prestige or Premium ICC. I don't think you can access the power amp within the unit without a lot of buggerising about. Then why would you want to for 17W RMS per channel!

You can get auxilary inputs for the BA where you can connect an Ipod or similar unit. There are two type availble from Ford, the straight cable and one with a booster unit. You should use the one with the booster unit as it eliminates most noise.

Occationally you find these aux units on ebay. Do a seach for this article number (260126130815) on ebay and you should find a description.

However, that won't help you, the unit wouldn't be sensitive enough to connect to RCA outputs from another head unit.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 3:13 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 501

Joined: 25th Apr 2006

Ride: ED GLi Classic

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

pellajl wrote:
I haven't heard of any RCA inputs for the Prestige or Premium ICC. I don't think you can access the power amp within the unit without a lot of buggerising about. Then why would you want to for 17W RMS per channel!

You can get auxilary inputs for the BA where you can connect an Ipod or similar unit. There are two type availble from Ford, the straight cable and one with a booster unit. You should use the one with the booster unit as it eliminates most noise.

Occationally you find these aux units on ebay. Do a seach for this article number (260126130815) on ebay and you should find a description.

However, that won't help you, the unit wouldn't be sensitive enough to connect to RCA outputs from another head unit.


We're not after inputs, we want to output signal from the aftermarket headunit to the factory amp.

 

_________________

RIP Chelsea
96 EF2 Gli - T5 / Exedy / Wade 977b / P+P / JMM Extractors, 2.5" / Port matched BBM / and more
bmICE

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:58 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 46

Joined: 27th Dec 2006

Location: Wagga
NSW, Australia

im pretty sure the amp is located in the front passenger door, so just check the inputs there? i would use a aftermarket amp an just use rca converters if ur goin to go to the trouble of it

 

_________________

Soon to be the finest Sounding BA Ute

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 5:47 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 110

Posts: 379

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Predator

Location: HERVEY BAY
QLD, Australia

Atz88 wrote:
im pretty sure the amp is located in the front passenger door, so just check the inputs there? i would use a aftermarket amp an just use rca converters if ur goin to go to the trouble of it


huh? the ba factory amp is in the boot...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 10:06 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names