Fordmods Logo

BA Sound System Upgrades 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA Sound System Upgrades
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 4:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 15

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EBII 2

Location: NSW
NSW, Australia

is it possible to attach an AMP to the speaker setup in the BAs.

(in XT-Fairmonts) non premium sound.

As i will be selling the EBII shortly and i dont want to be stuck with cruddy factory sound.

JC
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 4:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1679

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 32 GTR

Location: Greenacre
NSW, Australia

Factory sounds sweet man...
Im quite certain you can put in an amp, but what i have heard i head unit is near impossible to change for an after market product. :cry:

 

_________________

237.9 KW ATW

12.485

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 4:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

You can put in any amp you like but are limited to a couple of options:

Hi level input - ie. wire the amp into each and every speaker line

Level converters - to use a lo level input, need speaker line from standard system converted into a low level signal, which goes into amp which then produces a hi level output for the speakers.

If that makes sense.....

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:20 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 259

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: XRGLi EF

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cant u remove the headunit and get a new surround and facia made up to suit an after market h/u???

 

_________________

BA XR8 manual ute black

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1679

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 32 GTR

Location: Greenacre
NSW, Australia

But then how would you use air conditioning and all, there are more reasons but i don't know much about them. Maybe some one els can explain about the head units, and why they are so hard to replace.

 

_________________

237.9 KW ATW

12.485

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 5:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

well mainly i think because the focker is built into the dash, what he was trying to say is you can get a new facia set up made, that has a hole for the new h/u, but is still pretty much standard.
and as for standard sound system the one in my dads XR is good enough as it is, i wouldnt mind nicking his speakers and puttin em in my car.

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 7:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 882

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: In Transition

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

i dont think that the premium sound is such as bad investment, nice screen and interface good sound

 

_________________

Image
Member Since FM 1

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2004 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

IMO the stock HU is good for a factory item, shame the crap speakers let it down...... decent speakers and a healthy amount of power going into them should have things rocking!

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:07 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

azza wrote:
cant u remove the headunit and get a new surround and facia made up to suit an after market h/u???

hey azza nope no can do as teh icc controls more that just the radio!!!
ie air con and stuff cant rember whate else!
also the premium sound the screen is used for sat nav etc

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 4:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 1434

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 15 images

Ride: ALTED XR6 - ALTED EA - EF TAXI

Location: Sunshine Coast QLD
QLD, Australia

Have not been in many BA falcons, but is there not a tissue box that you could install an aftermarket head unit in there? ..

just an idea .... maybe ..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 7:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

au2low wrote:
Have not been in many BA falcons, but is there not a tissue box that you could install an aftermarket head unit in there? ..

just an idea .... maybe ..

yea, there have been a couple of installs with the HU in that spot

the passenger side airbag panel (if the airbag isnt fitted) being replaced with a dummy panel and the HU mounted in it is another option, as is mounting a new HU in the glovebox

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Dec 18, 2004 8:34 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

the ICC contains audio, HVAC (Heater,Ventilation, Air Conditioning) as well as the BEM (Body Electrics Module). Replacement cost is over $2000 so stuffing with the ICC isnt a good idea. ALso, be careful of attatching stuff to it as ive seen a couple of people who've wrecked they'res due to screwing thru circitry...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 19, 2004 8:08 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 54

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA XR6 UTE ,MK1 ESCORT

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

i got a price on putting a new head unit in my xr ute .....$750 the unit was only $500 and that did noy include the amps i had planed or sub so instead i used those hi 2 lo converters and a single amp now it sounds sweet as , oh yeah upgraded the speakers aswell put 6.5 " eclipse in the front and eclipse 5*7 in the rear with a new fully sealed surround mounting bracket. the standard bracket doesn't even cover 1/3rd the hole

 

_________________

Blueprint please ... i want to be different ..............

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: BA Falc Speakers sizes (stock)
Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 8:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 39

Posts: 20

Joined: 10th Feb 2005

Ride: Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

So what speakers sizes are in a BA Stock (XT, series 1)? I'm looking at doing an install for a mate, just doing better speakers, some RCA line converters (or high power in if it suit better) and an amp under the seat perhaps (running a little sub in the boot). Any ideas from people that have done their own installs on BAs?

No i won't be changing the head-unit, or removing it. Does anyone know where the cabling for the speakers at the back go? (down the door sill left or right etc??) Ideas for power feed lines to the amp, spaces in the firewall for wiring from the battery and any other pitfalls??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA Falc Speakers sizes (stock)
Posted: Thu Feb 10, 2005 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

Wolf wrote:
So what speakers sizes are in a BA Stock (XT, series 1)? I'm looking at doing an install for a mate, just doing better speakers, some RCA line converters (or high power in if it suit better) and an amp under the seat perhaps (running a little sub in the boot). Any ideas from people that have done their own installs on BAs?

No i won't be changing the head-unit, or removing it. Does anyone know where the cabling for the speakers at the back go? (down the door sill left or right etc??) Ideas for power feed lines to the amp, spaces in the firewall for wiring from the battery and any other pitfalls??

speakers are 5x7" front and rear, but it's not hard to drop something else in.... i know alpine type R splits fit into an AU's front doors with minimal work (piece of thin ply cut to fit the door, and cut so the speaker would fit in)
how about putting the amp in the boot and just tapping into the rear speaker wires??

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:07 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names