Fordmods Logo

BA speaker wiring? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: BA speaker wiring?
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:48 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 172

Joined: 12th Apr 2006

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hey all, i'm installing an aftermarket head unit into my BA XT falcon, and all i needa know is what colour are the speaker wires for all 4 speakers so that i can use them for my new head unit. thanks.

 

_________________

2002 BA XT: Painted calipers, K&N pod filter, Pioneer head unit, Fusion sub and amp, driving lights, spoiler, 19" rims, twin 2.25" exhaust with quad tips.

Soon to come... Pacemaker Extractors, supercharger.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 1:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

the speaker wires come into the back of the ICC through the multipin self aligning connecter (100 odd pins iirc). Easier to run your own wires as there isnt anywhere you can get the the speaker wires in the dash without removing it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

i attempted to run my own speaker cable for the front speakers but found it near impossible to get it to run through the door gromit with the rest of the wires. im going to have another go tomorrow but from memory the other side just runs behind the glovebox somewhere, has anyone done this??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 23rd Oct 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

PhantomLord,

Bean there done that.......

The issue is gaining access to the front speaker wiring. They are located behind the driver and passenger kick panels.

Send me a PM with you email address and will send you some more information.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

wiring can be run through the doors, my mate ran 8G cable into the doors, so it's possible, just very difficult
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

why would u run 8g cable into the doors? i didnt get round to the doors today, mounted amps and run wiring for them instead. if there is anyone who can offer any tips on running the cable meanwhile please do.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

na2fairlane wrote:
why would u run 8g cable into the doors? i didnt get round to the doors today, mounted amps and run wiring for them instead. if there is anyone who can offer any tips on running the cable meanwhile please do.


8G speaker cable, 3 runs for Focal KP3's

Run the power seperate to the RCA's, to neaten things up you will probably find it easier to run the remote turn on wire with the RCA's, taped together every 40cm or so. With the earth keep it as short as possible and rub back any paint where you screw it into metal :wink:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:45 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 30

Joined: 23rd Oct 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey PhantomLord,

Send me a PM with your email address and I will send you some useful info. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

Blu Falc wrote:
na2fairlane wrote:
why would u run 8g cable into the doors? i didnt get round to the doors today, mounted amps and run wiring for them instead. if there is anyone who can offer any tips on running the cable meanwhile please do.


8G speaker cable, 3 runs for Focal KP3's

Run the power separate to the RCA's, to neaten things up you will probably find it easier to run the remote turn on wire with the RCA's, taped together every 40cm or so. With the earth keep it as short as possible and rub back any paint where you screw it into metal :wink:


yeah ran power down drivers side and rcas down passenger with the remote wire that was no problem. only problem i have is the wiring for the front door speakers from the door to the interior.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 2:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

use a coat hanger
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 7:59 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 99

Joined: 9th May 2007

Ride: xr6 Series 3 vct

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

just look on the speakers would be the best and easiest way
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 728

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: ba falcon

Location: perth
WA, Australia

MR_XR60 wrote:
just look on the speakers would be the best and easiest way
usless post
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:42 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

MR_XR60 wrote:
just look on the speakers would be the best and easiest way

what does that even mean?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:24 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 46

Joined: 27th Dec 2006

Location: Wagga
NSW, Australia

i ran the wires into the front doors 2day an its quite professional, ill post pics up once i got everything going but i had to remove the doors, wires run through the oringinal plugs connecting the doors :)

 

_________________

Soon to be the finest Sounding BA Ute

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:31 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 391

Joined: 24th Jul 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

Atz88 wrote:
i ran the wires into the front doors 2day an its quite professional, ill post pics up once i got everything going but i had to remove the doors, wires run through the oringinal plugs connecting the doors :)


ohh good work there mate, cant wait to see the pics :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:46 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names