Fordmods Logo

ba stock head unit 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ba stock head unit
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:54 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 181

Joined: 4th Aug 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 97 EL futura & BF XR6 Turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

id like to know if you can plug rca leads onto the back of the stock head unit without any extras or do i have to get the rca jack so i can install my rockford amp and sub into my xr6t and how easy is it to install the rca jack

 

_________________

there is only 2 rules in driving go hard or go home

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 4:23 pm 
VIC Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1167

Joined: 6th Jan 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ed

Location: Mooroolbark
VIC, Australia

dose it say anything in the user manual about it at all or just take it out and see whats on the back

 

_________________

94 White ED Wagon
eaton M112 supercharger, lowered a tad, extractors, 2.5" exhaust, T5 , custom SureCam supercharger cam, 3.45 lokka, 2 piece tailshaft, poyair bags in the back, TSS front Skirt, Sprint skirts, XR wagon spoiler.
soon to get: AU diff, upc 330mm brakes, Vapor LPG injection.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:34 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 181

Joined: 4th Aug 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 97 EL futura & BF XR6 Turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

i asked a bloke at autobarn and he said the only way i can do it is to pay $80 for the rca jack.
i have installed plenty of stereo's and amp's but not on the bf

 

_________________

there is only 2 rules in driving go hard or go home

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:44 am 
VIC Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1167

Joined: 6th Jan 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: ed

Location: Mooroolbark
VIC, Australia

well 80 is better than 200+

 

_________________

94 White ED Wagon
eaton M112 supercharger, lowered a tad, extractors, 2.5" exhaust, T5 , custom SureCam supercharger cam, 3.45 lokka, 2 piece tailshaft, poyair bags in the back, TSS front Skirt, Sprint skirts, XR wagon spoiler.
soon to get: AU diff, upc 330mm brakes, Vapor LPG injection.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:03 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 181

Joined: 4th Aug 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 97 EL futura & BF XR6 Turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

true

 

_________________

there is only 2 rules in driving go hard or go home

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:23 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 365

Joined: 14th Feb 2006

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

get a line converter, ther about $15, and splice it in to your rear speakers

 

_________________

Real Men Smoke Rubber

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Line Convertor
Posted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 8:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 355

Joined: 17th May 2005

Ride: BA Turbo

Location: logan city
QLD, Australia

I was told the best way to do it with the cleanest signals is by using this LC6i Audiocontrol line convertor I purchased.
Paid $300 for it.

Only problem is I have changed my setup and gone with a external DVD headunit.
Worst thing about this is I lose the function of the steering wheel audio controls by going with the dvd in stead of using the line convertor.

Below is all the info from my ad on here
with link to photobucket pictures

New in sealed package audiocontrol LC6i Concert quality 6 channel Line Convertor

This is what is required to convert the ICC speaker output to run amps and other audio accessories.

key features of the LC6i
6 input and output channels
Speaker-level inputs- can accept 400-watt signals
Internal channel summing
GTO tm - Signal-sensing inputs
level matching controls
12 volt trigger output
Input for optional subwoofer level control


Was told at time that this is the best option of connecting amps and aftermarket audio gear to my BA.
By using this you keep the option of being able to use the steering wheel audio controls.
Was going to use but went with option of running a DVD head unit instead.
Bit of a bugger though as I have lost the use of steering wheel control of audio by going the DVD route.


Is in new unused condition and still in sealed plastic.

cost me $300
Sell $230 plus postage

Location Is Boronia Heights (West of Logan City QLD)

[IMG]http://i360.photobucket.com/albums/oo46/01txr/LC6i2.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://i360.photobucket.com/albums/oo46/01txr/LC6i1.jpg[/IMG]

PM me if you are interested for address or contact details
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jan 14, 2009 2:32 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 391

Joined: 24th Jul 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Location: melb
VIC, Australia

what about u just do the rca mod to ur ba? i'm thinking of getting it done myself and this way i can still use my steering wheel audio controls

i think asllogistics.com does it to
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Line Convertor
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1798

Joined: 14th Jun 2006

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: FG 50th Anni G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

pkr wrote:
I was told the best way to do it with the cleanest signals is by using this LC6i Audiocontrol line convertor I purchased.
Paid $300 for it.



I have an older model of this (beleive its called LC3 or something) and it works a treat... still get to use the sterring wheel controls. I run 2 subs and 2 amps off it.

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 5:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1833

Joined: 3rd May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: AUII XR6 Uterus

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

can't you just extend and or solder rca plugs to the stock stereo speaker outputs ?

 

_________________

Not to get technical, but according to chemistry alcohol is a solution.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 181

Joined: 4th Aug 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 97 EL futura & BF XR6 Turbo

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

got it installed today they installed the audio converter without pulling the head unit out (still trying to figure out where they put it) but when i find out ill let you know i also got them to install a cut off switch for the amp (when kids are in the car) which is just under the ignition.
The whole thing cost me $260 that includes

new wires for the amp
audio converter
cut off switch
and installation

and ill take photo's when i have the chance

 

_________________

there is only 2 rules in driving go hard or go home

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:47 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names