Fordmods Logo

ba sub rca 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ba sub rca
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 7:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 365

Joined: 14th Feb 2006

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi all, starting 2 look around 4 a sub n amp, went 2 marion motoquip and the guy said i needa by a $3000 kit from alpine or sumthin for it 2 be done. i just walkd out the store, then went 2 jb high fi and askd the guy in ther and he said i wuld eitha need 2 by an after market head deck or get this box thing that has rca spots on it for bout $350 or this smaller box thing with rca ports for bout $70 but he said that with the small 1 i might here engine sounds wen i accelerate. just wana no how otha ppl hav put ther sub n amp in ther ba's with out premium sound.

 

_________________

Real Men Smoke Rubber

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 10:57 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 110

Posts: 379

Joined: 20th Aug 2006

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA Predator

Location: HERVEY BAY
QLD, Australia

all you need is an amp with high pass inputs
ie uses the speaker wires from the ba as the input signal
if you have a amp without these you'll need to get a line converter
does the same thing (converts highpass to rca)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 662

Joined: 4th Sep 2005

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: Riddells Creek
VIC, Australia

hey mate, if you go to the ASL web page, they sell some type of line convertor! Its all explained on the web page how they do it! Its about 220 bucks for the set up!

http://www.asllogistics.com/ford_upgrades.html

Hope this is good mate!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba sub rca
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 9:23 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

ducati119 wrote:
hi all, starting 2 look around 4 a sub n amp, went 2 marion motoquip and the guy said i needa by a $3000 kit from alpine or sumthin for it 2 be done. i just walkd out the store, then went 2 jb high fi and askd the guy in ther and he said i wuld eitha need 2 by an after market head deck or get this box thing that has rca spots on it for bout $350 or this smaller box thing with rca ports for bout $70 but he said that with the small 1 i might here engine sounds wen i accelerate. just wana no how otha ppl hav put ther sub n amp in ther ba's with out premium sound.


If you want help, other forumites need to understand what you are saying - try English instead of f**kwit-speak. This is a forum, not a mobile phone.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ba sub rca
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 10:16 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 105

Joined: 3rd Nov 2005

Gallery: 19 images

Ride: EB Fairmont Ghia

Location: Northern Burbs Adelaide
SA, Australia

ducati119 wrote:
hi all, starting 2 look around 4 a sub n amp, went 2 marion motoquip and the guy said i needa by a $3000 kit from alpine or sumthin for it 2 be done. i just walkd out the store, then went 2 jb high fi and askd the guy in ther and he said i wuld eitha need 2 by an after market head deck or get this box thing that has rca spots on it for bout $350 or this smaller box thing with rca ports for bout $70 but he said that with the small 1 i might here engine sounds wen i accelerate. just wana no how otha ppl hav put ther sub n amp in ther ba's with out premium sound.


Mate, best thing to do is go into a car audio place that sells Stinger products and ask for a PAC LC2 adjustable speaker to RCA converter.
I've used heaps of these on BA's and haven't had a problem as It's ideal for adjusting the volume of your sub instead of always turning the bass up/down on your head unit :wink:

http://www.hpdistributinginc.com/hpdist ... asp?id=894

 

_________________

EB Fairmont Ghia 6 -160rwkw (E85 tune)
ZL Fairlane 6 - Grandpa Spec
XW Falcon 221 2V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 11:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1298

Joined: 4th Apr 2006

Ride: BA 3v ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Either get a line converter or a head unit. I've had a line converter and recently upgraded to a head unit. The head unit sounds alot better but the line converter will do the job for a sub

 

_________________

www.bseries.com.au/punktured

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:21 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 365

Joined: 14th Feb 2006

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

got evrythin installed at autobarn about a month or 2 ago. the guy ran evrythin throug the amp, i didnt need anything extra. im not running 2 pioneer 12" 1200w. amp that i hav atm isnt powerful enough tho 2 get the most out of the subs, so saving up for a kicker mono block amp 750w rms. my clarion amp atm is 240W rms and is a 4 channel with the channels bridged together, does the job for now.

will post pics up later tonight maybe

 

_________________

Real Men Smoke Rubber

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 4:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 1380

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: FPV BF MKII F6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

ive got a kicker 1200.1 monoblock that im looking at selling how much u wanna spend?

 

_________________

OBS35N is gooonnnneeee.
Gone for good..... Damn fence posts!!!!!

OBS35N #2 (XXF6XX) just bought, bring it on

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names