Fordmods Logo

BA XT Head unit 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BA XT Head unit
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 29

Joined: 16th Mar 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: XT

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey ppl i just bought a new BA XT. just wondering if i could put a pioner head unit in it and how much fu**king around is it going to be. (i havnt got the premiem sound pack.) i want to run two 12'' subs, screens in back head rests. the deck im getting is a dvd player aswell. just askin for a bit of help

 

_________________

BA XT. 20'' BSA rims ss induction. in car entertainment.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 727

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Concorde

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

good luck with that!!!!

when or if you do it, post pics.

 

_________________

2nd Place Summernats19 SQ Comp, Street Pro 0-600 Class
STEREO - 128.7db
JVC EXAD DVD and surround sound
3 X 10" Lanzar Dual Voice Coil 6ohm Subs
4 X 6.5" Alpine S-Type 2-way, front and back
JVC 6.6cm Center Speaker
Engine -
2.5" exhaust, SS Inductions CAI, K&N air filter. 132.6rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

It can't be done as Ford have made the ICC's in the BA's non-interchangable with the aftermarket head units - im afraid if you change it, you could wreck the whole interior. Would be lots of work and lots of customising. Save up and get a premium sound system, that is juts my advice

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

Hmmm.......

Errrr......


Welll.....

Umm.....

It's Kinda like.....

If you .....

*scratches head* Does a BA have a tissue compartment like the territorys do?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 6:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

I had a think about it..... Why not try for a rear mounted dvd deck (seeing as you'll only have screens in the back). You could possibly mount it in the centre console, sticking out towards rear passengers. Then you could just have IR headphones for them.

If you add an active crossover or EQ along with some high quality line/level converters, you would have all the control and tuning you need for a multi amp system.

(Or do what he said.....)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 7:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

whats peoples obsession with puttin fuken screens in the headrests..... how the hell are you meant to see it.. cant exactly say i sit in the back of my car that often to feel the urge to watch tv, i think most car owners are in there for another reason....

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 22, 2005 8:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 1052

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

there are a few places around that will upgrade your stereo and icc to a full colour screen and still be able to look factory.
come to think of it look at fordforums and ask PASHEN hes done all that he should be able to help.

have a look here this should help ya. :wink:
http://www.fordforums.com/showthread.php?t=107878

 

_________________

"Looking at cleavage is like looking at the sun. You don't stare at it. It's too risky. You get a sense of it and then you look away."

Now with el thermos fitted.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 8:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 252

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

eheheh that reminds me, i was driving to work the other night, and saw this grange, with screens in the headrests (and one coming down from the roof, where the sunglasses holder goes on some vehicles) and they had porn on, so i was trying to drive next to it and watch it whilst driving...ahahah so dangerous, but funny, they luvd it!! ahah, although it was a hire car i think, just a bunch of doods watching porn, anyone and EVERY1 could see it) so on while on the topic, u could get a dvd screen and player setup like the ones which come down from the roof, just infront of the rear vision mirror, they are pretty sweet, and everyone in the car can see it (i saw one at strathfeild car radio at taren point (sydney) it was about 2g's), oh and if u wanna put a H/U in, check out this guys car http://www.trueblueford.com/davesbafutura.html , and maybe msg him, he seems to have a pretty PHAT system on his....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 12:41 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 288

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: fairmont ghia

Location: perth
WA, Australia

u cant upgrade to the premium colour screen after you get the car it has to be done at the ford factory on the production line.... your best way to do it is mount the deck where the tissue box bit is... thats what everyone does...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2005 12:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 252

Joined: 14th Jun 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

but thats the ford premium sound screen unit yeh? i would of thought that if u buy an 'aftermarket' one it could be easily installed like if u bought it from strathfield car radio or sum other shop like that and they installed it for ya, or sum other place (cuz strathfield installations are HEAPS dodgy!!) it could be done, .....? i mean im not 100% sure, i am suggesting though...cuz i saw a unit there just like the premium sound one which comes down from the roof...looked prety nice..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:17 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 43

Joined: 22nd Mar 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon BA xr6

Location: Darwin
NT, Australia

ALpine has brought out a unit that plugs into the existing head unit and gives the ability to run a dvd player, cd player, stacker, screens, and heaps of other s**t through the existing setup. It costs around $500.00. Don't know the technical name for it but it awesome, was looking at getting one myself.... Don't know if that helps you much..

 

_________________

Specs: BA Xr6, Stat Nav, Preimum Audio, 2 x Alphine Type R 12inch subs, 18inch alloys, sunrooof, colour screen, front grill, sports exhaust 2.5" and extractors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:29 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

slycruza wrote:
u cant upgrade to the premium colour screen after you get the car it has to be done at the ford factory on the production line.... your best way to do it is mount the deck where the tissue box bit is... thats what everyone does...



this is not quite true, if you have an XT,Futura or XR with the std monocrome lcd u can put a premium colour screen in but it must have the base HVAC controls.


As per the photo i have attached.

you then need to take it to ford so they can change the type of hu with the WDS system

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: As per this photo
photo7.jpg
photo7.jpg [ 28.29 KiB | Viewed 64 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2005 1:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3184

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

and people wonder why so many love the E series!! awesome car to start with, then easy to mod from there!!

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 6:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Yeah - I agree EA to EL, sooo easy to modify, being that the dash layout is simpleand easy toconfigure, but once the AU got all "Oval-like" not so good.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names