Fordmods Logo

BA XT standard stereo: multiple questions! 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 30 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:29 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 46

Joined: 27th Dec 2006

Location: Wagga
NSW, Australia

go the carputer installation, currently doing it soon, an will have plenty of pics an guide if any one wants to venture to that degree lol

 

_________________

Soon to be the finest Sounding BA Ute

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 12:44 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Darkr wrote:
Anyway, I would just go for the headunit in the tissue box holder location, and then install the rest of your stereo, that will probably be way under $3k :/

and loose the auto phone input switching, speed sensitive volume, and steering wheel located switches?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:56 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 49

Joined: 18th Mar 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: AU2 Futura & BFMk2 F/mont Ghia

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

xpression wrote:
Darkr wrote:
Anyway, I would just go for the headunit in the tissue box holder location, and then install the rest of your stereo, that will probably be way under $3k :/

and loose the auto phone input switching, speed sensitive volume, and steering wheel located switches?


i wouldnt have thought fellas like us would worry about that sort of fancy crap if it meant better sound... especially the speed sensitive volume :twisted: :wink:

 

_________________

"If it aint broke, dont fix it" ...he clearly doesn't have a car to play with.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:26 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Exactly, all very minor 'features', far and away overwhelmed by a quality head unit install.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I'd go the the ASL option just because it looks (and basically is) factory and I like having my steering wheel controls :)

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: BA XT standard stereo: multiple questions!
Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:30 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Oct 2006

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

PhantomLord wrote:
hey all, i wanted to know a few things about the POS sound system used in the standard ford BA XT range.

1. i just went out and bought a line out converter to add RCA outputs for my sub, but i don't know how to get the panel out of the dash to get to the loom on the back to wire the damn thing up, any help would be appreciated.

2. is it possible to replace the ICC thingo with an in dash standard 2-din screen, like a pioneer or something? i'm really not too fussed with it telling me if i have the heater or the ac on or anything like that, i just wanna replace the whole thing if it's possible.

thanks!


answer no.1: you can access via the passenger kickpanel to piggyback the line convertor to the rear speaker wires which will allow for RCA to hook up an amp.

answer no.2: its possible to go double din into the console however will be heavily modified. you will definately lose your A/C & climate function as i found out doing my project.

console mods still in progress
Image

lots of space behind console - funny was able to drive around like that.
Image

i have a standard console which the small LCD screen had replaced with a 7"TFT DVD screen and the original CD unit & buttons removed which will make room for my aftermarket headunit. Needs custom mounting brackets and alot!!!!! of re-wiring. not for the feint hearted.

my car drives fine without certain parts of the ICC but again said i don't have my A/C or climate buttons working. i just need more time to reverse engineer to get it back up again.[/img]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:49 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 156

Joined: 19th Sep 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Auckland
New Zealand

does the trip computer still work while the icc is disconnected like that?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 2:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Oct 2006

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

95efwagon wrote:
does the trip computer still work while the icc is disconnected like that?


trip computer in cluster works fine, all cluster functions as normal.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 14

Joined: 27th Aug 2006

Ride: BA MKII XR8 Ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

can you post some pics of what your dash looks like.. with the 7" lcd in it ect. thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:37 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Oct 2006

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

i had given up on the project as my wife has given me orders to stop spending all my time modding the interior. but here is what i last finished or might i say still unfinished. i'm maybe considering putting on ebay for somebody else to go continue on modding it. needs more work on it.

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 14

Joined: 27th Aug 2006

Ride: BA MKII XR8 Ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

do you know if it can be done to get your a/c and ect working on that screen?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 2:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Oct 2006

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

nope, no idea... don't think its possible.

the only thing while working on the mod was that the a/c buttons and cd player stopped working but the rest of the car was fine. still haven't figured out the problem to date.

these icc units are very sophisicated. don't think too hard.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 3:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 14

Joined: 27th Aug 2006

Ride: BA MKII XR8 Ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeh they are... did you put a head unit in and do you think you could change the slot loading cd player to a slot loading dvd player?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 4:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 10

Joined: 9th Oct 2006

Ride: Falcon BA XT Wagon

Location: Wollongong
NSW, Australia

i had the idea of doing that but never got around to it. seems to be enough space for the aftermarket headunit just need to cut a hole for it, and patch up any leftover hole from the stock cd slot.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 26, 2007 11:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 365

Joined: 14th Feb 2006

Ride: BA falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

went 2 autobarn and they said they culd use the rear speaker wires 2 go in2 the amp and then power the sub, said i didnt need 2 get any adapters or anythin. gettin 2 pioneer champions and clarion 4 channel amp.

 

_________________

Real Men Smoke Rubber

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:38 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names