Fordmods Logo

Battery Terminals with built in voltmeter 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

old_mate wrote:
twr7cx sounds like the terminal has a internal short, or is causing a voltage drain somehow.


sounds like it hey I cant see why else it would be effecting charging from the alternator

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 4:55 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 332

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just for the record, when the car is off, what voltage should the battery be holding?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 28, 2006 6:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 4946

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Trik'd up EFII XR6

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

XRated wrote:
Just for the record, when the car is off, what voltage should the battery be holding?


should be round 12V if its fully charged or slightly under...with no load...ie eve tho the cars off no interior lighting etc.....you'll only see 14.4V if you have the car round the charging revs when running like 1850rpm.

 

_________________

For Sale: 25 Farad Rockford Fosgate Competition Series Carbon Cap, more to come - pm me if interested

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 10:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

you really need to check things with a voltmeter

check load across the terminals with and without this suspect battery terminal, and also from the output of the alternator

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 29, 2006 12:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 332

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Big Kev wrote:
XRated wrote:
Just for the record, when the car is off, what voltage should the battery be holding?


should be round 12V if its fully charged or slightly under...with no load...ie eve tho the cars off no interior lighting etc.....you'll only see 14.4V if you have the car round the charging revs when running like 1850rpm.


Thanks. Mine sits around 12.8V with the car off.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 11103

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: AU III XR8 Pursuit 250 ute

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I picked up a JayCar one, shall try it soon. I have noticed that the JayCar one has two wires comign out of it, were my original one only had one (the earth wire).

 

_________________

Heaps of performance EF/L parts for sale, including supercharged VCT motor!

2002 Ford AU Series III Falcon XR8 Pursuit 250 ute - 5.6L of V8 Windsor!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Can you tell me if the biggest allen grub screw on your stuffed terminal will fit in the biggest hole on the jaycar one? i have lost my jaycar one and am yet to find a new screw that'll fit it

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:10 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

twr7cx wrote:
I picked up a JayCar one, shall try it soon. I have noticed that the JayCar one has two wires comign out of it, were my original one only had one (the earth wire).


Yeah for some reason they give you a positive wire.

I just jammed it back into the terminal. It's sealed with a rubber stopper, it can be pulled out to do this wire trick (solder or just make sure it's stuck against the terminal side good and secure) and to recalibrate the sensor. I calibrate mine with a good multimeter.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 832

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

How do u calibrate the jaycar ones? Is there a adjustment on them somewhere?

 

_________________

too many rabbits in china

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 9:25 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

yep. Underneath what looks like a permanent seal, is just a rubber stopper, pull it out. I dug in a sharp pointed object and pulled it out, and on the circuit board theres a variable resistor you can tweak to make it read the same as a multimeter.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:43 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names