Fordmods Logo

Best place to install tweeters in 1997 Fairmont Falcon EL 

Page 1 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post subject: Best place to install tweeters in 1997 Fairmont Falcon EL
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:04 pm 
Parts Gopher

Ride: 1997 Falcon EL Fairmont Wagon

VIC, Australia

hey guys Recently I purchased some new speakers for my car. I picked up a set of polk Db6501 Split componant speakers.

I've mounted them sucessfully and have had them running off a PA 330 amp for about two weeks now and I'm quite happy with how they sound but I'm not certain they are as good as they could be.

I realized today that the soundstaging was really off. I've never done staging before but when i'm sitting in the driving seat I can't hear the passenger side speaker at all so I tried playing with the ballance and found that when set to L02 it seems to even it out a little more but I don't think the tweeters are right.

I mounted the tweeters on the little plastic parts in the front of the door (the triangle shaped plastic bits i'm not sure what they're called) but the passenger side tweeter is unobstructed by anything and seems to point down. The drivers side door points mostly straight but half of it points into the side of the dash.

I was wondering would changing the positions of these make the staging noticably better?

If it would where is the best place to put the tweeters? Has anyone else put splits in their 1997 falcon and could share some advice please?

Attachment:
File comment: Drivers Side Tweeter notice how it's pointing into the dash.
Right Side.JPG
Right Side.JPG [ 294.67 KiB | Viewed 358 times ]

Attachment:
File comment: Left side. Notice how the tweeter is pointing down.
Left Side.JPG
Left Side.JPG [ 318.98 KiB | Viewed 285 times ]

Aussierox

Last edited by Aussierox on Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post subject: Re: Best place to install tweeters in 1997 Fairmont Falcon EL
Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:46 pm 
Tyre Shredder