Fordmods Logo

BF Vehicle Speed Sense (VSS) Wire colour? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: BF Vehicle Speed Sense (VSS) Wire colour?
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:45 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Nov 2004

Ride: BA GT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I have just completed the installation of a vdo dayton navigation system and need to find out which wire in the orange connector behind the passengers side foot well is for vehicle speed sense. All I have been told is that it is likely to be one of the wires in the orange connector. Help would be appreciated as I have not been able to find a wiring diagram.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:43 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

I have an AU2.
The wire is white on my car - I picked it up in a plug in the engine bay on the drivers side.

The way to test is put your voltmeter on it and roll the car a few meters. You will see the voltmeter needle pulse as the car moves.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 01, 2007 2:37 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

you wont find one on a BF. The ABS uses wheel speed sensors to determine the speed of the vehicle, and puts this information on the CAN communication network to all the other modules in the car
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Nov 2004

Ride: BA GT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Is there a can bus signal converter available to convert the CAN signal into a speed signal output.?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 10:47 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

not really no, because the CAN bus carries lots of messages not just speed signal.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 04, 2007 11:29 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Nov 2004

Ride: BA GT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

the reason why i asked was that for a mates chrysler 300x we got a box that connected to can hi and can low and had a bunch of output wires of which one pair was digital speedometer pulse signal and that connected directly to the vdo nav. the can box needed to be taught it was attached to a chrysler by doing a scan but the manual supported hundereds of cars. i wonder if that would attache to the bf.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 4:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 59

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Ride: BA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Will be blue with a white trace if it's in that connector.

There are no Can Bus converters for BA/BF that I know of, certainly nothing like the Stinger converter you use on the 300C

 

_________________

The difference between pornography and erotica is lighting.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:54 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

There's a Grey-Blue wire (into the EEC 'B' connector) but it's marked as only present on cars without ABS.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 8:30 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Nov 2004

Ride: BA GT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I checked for a speed pulse on those two wire colours without success. According the VDO there should be a BLACK/WHT WIRE but I have not been able to find one except in the grey connector adjacent to the orange one that carries a steady 12V signal on IGN. It is tempting to connect the SPAL ICB1 box from the Chrysler to the CAN HI and CAN low wires in the OBD2 connector and see if an automatic vehicle detect works. Otherwise it looks like the nav will determine speed from satellite signal only which doesnt help in the first few minutes before 3 or more satellites are found or when a tunnel is encountered. Further advise would be welcomed. In addition I will let everyone know if I resolve it in the interim.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: [b]VSS wire colour on BF resolved[/b]
Posted: Tue Sep 18, 2007 12:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 17th Nov 2004

Ride: BA GT

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I have located the wire that provides a speed pulse. It is located on the back (vehicle side) of the grey connector which is mounted adjacent to the orange connector in the passenger side kick panel. The wire is Black with a white stripe. There are two grey connectors down there, one loose and the other mounted. The mounted connector is the one.

The wire is on the back of the grey connector requiring it to be slid off the mounting in order to reach the BLK/WHT wire entering the rear. On BF, the wire is not present on the plug in side of the connector hence why it was necessary to get to it from the back.

Once done the VDO MS5400 nav system sensed speed pulses at the correct rate while the car was driving along. I hope this information is helpful to others. Just as a side piece of information, the VDO vehicle speed sense wire is also BLK/WHT.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names