Fordmods Logo

box design and size? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: box design and size?
Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2005 11:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 740

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: sale
VIC, Australia

can anyone help me with a box design and how big it should be i am running a rockford p2 of a rockford p3001 amp cant remember the amp but i think thants it cheers guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

have a read through pyroay's subwoofer tutorial... at the end there is a recommended box size, ported and unported for subs

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 9:09 am 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Rockford fosgate is quality gear, there should be a manufactutor reccomended enclosure size supplied with the manual. If not ask the store you bought it form. They should definately be able to tell you and certainly build it for you if needed.

Aaron

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: .
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 12:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 772

Joined: 24th Mar 2005

Ride: EL FAIRMONT GHIA 97

Location: Perth Floreat
WA, Australia

Im running ROckford Fosgate P2, and my Boxes are 1.75CF encloses, not ported, they run bette encloses, thats my best bet.

as "pyroay said Really goog quality brand. ive had rockford for about a year now and love them.

cheers.

 

_________________

-------EL Fairmont Ghia with CUstome BA XR body kit-------

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 1:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 740

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: sale
VIC, Australia

ive had rockford for 6 months and blown 2 of there subs so they replaced the subs and amps so im on my third sub and second amp
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 3:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 740

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Location: sale
VIC, Australia

yeah i noticed there where some stuff in the instruction book i thought there might be a way of making one better adapted to the size of the car would that make a difference?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:20 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 128

Joined: 10th Oct 2005

Ride: turbo ef falcon

Location: canberra
ACT, Australia

hey im runnin 2 of the p2s and im just using a standard box, when getting it i asked what was reccomended and they said prefab box works well with these therefore no need for custom box, and advised against ported.
also just put the same in my mates car in a single 12" prefab box (60 bucks) and that goes off.
if that helps.

 

_________________

I will not eat oysters. I want my food dead. Not sick. Not wounded. Dead.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 7:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

shape isnt as important as volume, as long as the volume is the same, you can adjust any dimension to suit your car

presto: prefab box? better than a cutom build box designed specifically for your application? :lol: if you'll believe that, i've got a bridge you might be interested in buying

gaz: generally, there isnt a universal box size that will suit all subs, as each brand/model of sub behaves differently and has different characteristcs, and if you try a dozen different subs in the same box, each will sound and perform differently, which (apart from generally crap build quality) is why prefab boxes are allways a last resort

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2005 11:39 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

Really n eed to read the supplied manual or get full specs on the sub to be able to calculate optimum box size.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:46 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names