Fordmods Logo

Bridging a amp??? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 30 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Bridging a amp???
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 61

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

My question. (have I bridged correctly?)

I have a 4 channel amp and I'm running two 12" subs off of it. The way I've wired the subs is, I have bridged one sub to the front and had to flick the switch to full and used the gain control for the level of liking, as it does'nt have a LPF (low pass) switch for the front and it only has HPF (high pass) (see diagram below)

Image

Image

For the other sub, I'm using the rear channel in bridge mode and have flicked the switch to LPF and turned the LPF dial a quarter way round.

If I have done it right could you please let me know, If not could you please tell me how to set it up properly in step by step detail. Below is the info of my amp.

4x250 Watts Max. Output Power
4/3/2 Channel Bridgeable
2 OHM Stable & Tri-Mode Connection Possible
Thermal/ Short-Circuit/ Overloading Protection
High Efficiency Mosfet Power Supply

Variable Bass Booster
Variable Low Pass & High Pass Crossover


Thanks heaps guys for any help!!!


Terry

 

_________________

"Ford" any other machine is just a car!

Last edited by EFMumford on Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3277

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Ronald Mcdonald Mobile

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah that sounds corect to me for the amp that u have. with the fron channel on full u will be getting all the frequencies. im not sure wheather this will bugger the amp over time.

 

_________________

Gooooone - Eb2 Coon - 143RWKW
Now - Mazda MX5 with HKS Supercharger 190RWKW
Crescent Motorsport Liverpool - 9600 6229

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:40 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 61

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

ReGiE wrote:
yeah that sounds corect to me for the amp that u have. with the fron channel on full u will be getting all the frequencies. im not sure wheather this will bugger the amp over time.


Yeah ReGiE, thats another point that I forgot to put down, I noticed that the amp does seem to get warmer faster, having the front bridged that way.

By any chance would you know what Tri-mode means?

 

_________________

"Ford" any other machine is just a car!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:47 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

as far as i know, running full frequency thru a sub isn't good for it. will probably burn out the voice coil (and sound s**t at the same time!)
also, the sub will behave differently in the enclosure as it is receiving different frequencies to the other sub. this may not be too much of a problem if they are in separate enclosures, however if they are sharing ...

i'd look into buying a new amp to run your subs properly.

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 61

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

aphexer wrote:
as far as i know, running full frequency thru a sub isn't good for it. will probably burn out the voice coil (and sound s**t at the same time!)
also, the sub will behave differently in the enclosure as it is receiving different frequencies to the other sub. this may not be too much of a problem if they are in separate enclosures, however if they are sharing ...

i'd look into buying a new amp to run your subs properly.


Yeah each sub has its own seperate enclosure :)

Btw, can you bridge two subs off the rear channel of the amp?

 

_________________

"Ford" any other machine is just a car!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2005 6:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

u can, but it depends on whether the amp can handle the change in resistance and put out enough power accordingly.

http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/ISEO- ... tml?subs=2

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 8:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

it says 2-ohm stable. So as long as the two subs are identicle and the boxes are the same internal dimension, you should be able to run them briged at the amp and in parrallel. ie, take +'ve and -'ve line from amp to first sub, then from that sub run another line to the other sub. By doing this your amp will work hard so ensure good ventilation, and decent size power cable as well. if its the only amp in the system 8Ga will do. Subs really work better when under a LPF, clarity and punchyness is noticable
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 3:07 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 61

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

Thank you all for your help!!! I now have purchased another amp and bridged one of the subs off of it. The new amp has a LPF switch as well.

Omg! what a difference, not only can you hear the bass, though I can actually feel it as well! And the rear view mirror lets me know that the subs are working as well LOL (good virbrations)

 

_________________

"Ford" any other machine is just a car!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Ha ha lol get used to it, my mirror sounds like its gonna fall off sometimes :shock:

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

I have had to tighten the screws that holds mine to the roof.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 157

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EL

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

Pfft.... mine has fallen off for the last time. Im not even going to bother sticking it back on

 

_________________

Founder of Team "Snazz Factor High"

Proud member of "Team Can't Stop the Doof Doof"

'2nd Place at Summernats 2004' SQL 901+ Street Class

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 657

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Location: Eastern Suburbs
VIC, Australia

EFMumford wrote:
Omg! what a difference, not only can you hear the bass, though I can actually feel it as well! And the rear view mirror lets me know that the subs are working as well LOL (good virbrations)


good to hear, thats the way u want it ;)

subs aren't made to run full frequency, i'm pretty sure they get damaged that way.

wot amp did u end up buying?

 

_________________

2003 BA XR6T 5spd Manual PHANTOM
Custom Leather, 20" Kaotiks, Lowered, Exhaust, DVD System, BOV
Plenty more to come!

Member: Team Can't Stop The Doof Doof

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:55 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 61

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

Kenwood Maverick wrote:
I have had to tighten the screws that holds mine to the roof.


lmao!! lucky I keep screw drivers in the boot, cause it sounds like I'll need them! :roll:

 

_________________

"Ford" any other machine is just a car!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jan 25, 2005 5:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 61

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: AU Wagon

Location: Picton
NSW, Australia

aphexer wrote:
EFMumford wrote:
Omg! what a difference, not only can you hear the bass, though I can actually feel it as well! And the rear view mirror lets me know that the subs are working as well LOL (good virbrations)


good to hear, thats the way u want it ;)

subs aren't made to run full frequency, i'm pretty sure they get damaged that way.

wot amp did u end up buying?


I ended up getting another Boss amp, as I have been happy enough with them. It does the job :)

 

_________________

"Ford" any other machine is just a car!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 27, 2005 8:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 598

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Modified EA-S Falcon

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Southern Highlands
NSW, Australia

EFMumford wrote:
Kenwood Maverick wrote:
I have had to tighten the screws that holds mine to the roof.


lmao!! lucky I keep screw drivers in the boot, cause it sounds like I'll need them! :roll:


Yep thats right, have a toolbox permanently mounted in my custom boot :D :P :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 7:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names