Fordmods Logo

Cable run 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Cable run
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 12:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 26

Joined: 23rd Mar 2005

Ride: EF 95'

Location: Wodonga West
VIC, Australia

G'day
This forum is a great source of infomation.

What is the best way to run 4GA cable from the battery to the boot? Depending on the earth/grounding i might also run a negative from boot to battery to get a clean earth. So if there is room next to the positive i'll run a second cable.

Thanks

LN

 

_________________

Stock apart from 2.5" Exhaust and Headunit.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 2:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

hey

if your car is a AUTO then put it thoght the cluch cable hole in the firewall,if not then take the drivers side wheel off and remove the plastic s**t and there 's a hole in there that will come out near the kick panel ,you will be only able to fit one run of 4G thought the firewall as the hole is to small
for your earth find a part of the car chassie sand ther paint back so you can see metal and ground the cable there with a ring terminal or a big bolt or screw

cheers jarrod

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 9:29 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 26

Joined: 23rd Mar 2005

Ride: EF 95'

Location: Wodonga West
VIC, Australia

Beautiful, thx.

LN

 

_________________

Stock apart from 2.5" Exhaust and Headunit.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 8:51 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 26

Joined: 23rd Mar 2005

Ride: EF 95'

Location: Wodonga West
VIC, Australia

Problem i think...

I will have a 4GA cable running to boot with a 4GA cable running to the car ground near boot. But on my Negative terminal on my battery i only have a 8GA by the looks of it. Should that be upgraded? Else i can see it being a problem...maybe.

LN

 

_________________

Stock apart from 2.5" Exhaust and Headunit.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 22, 2005 9:46 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

if you got spare cable upgrade it, otherwise don't bother unless you're noticing a problem (noise).

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 12:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

one question, how much stuff are you running? as 4GA seems very very large for a "normal" install. I mean i run a 300WRMS sub PLUS i also run a set of Boston rally splits off an 8GA power and i am pretty sure that for a system like pyroay's then u would need 4GA otherwise for a normal setup, 8GA will be fine

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 23, 2005 10:04 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 26

Joined: 23rd Mar 2005

Ride: EF 95'

Location: Wodonga West
VIC, Australia

I have a 2 channel amp that is rated at 50A current and I am going to be adding a 4 channel amp that is rated at 60Amp. 8GA cable is 50A rated and 4GA is rated at 120A. Sure the values are aimed at amps running at 100% volume (before cliping). but it'll be nice if i know that cable won't hold the power back. Or heating up losing power to amps.

Thou i will insert an amp meter and see what i am pullling, if i am below 50% power i won't bother.

LN

 

_________________

Stock apart from 2.5" Exhaust and Headunit.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 24, 2005 4:47 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

My general rule is for 5m cable runs (i.e. front of car to the boot)
- 8gauge for 1 amp
- 4gauge for 2 amp's
- 2gauge for 3 amp's
- 0gauge for 4 amp's or more...

Of course if you are running a boot mounted battery with short cable runs it is not necessary to run these cable sizes.

The longer the cable run and smaller the cable the more voltage drop you have accross it. The lower the voltage the more current that is drawn and that in turn leads to more voltage drop.

ANSWER
Specifically in response to your question, you should run 4 gauge. It is not much more expensive and is worth the little extra.

If your earth from the battery is lookinf a little tired then upgrade it too. 4gauge will be fine, because it is a short cable run...

Don't run the earth back to the battery run it to somewhere in the boot. Make sure you sand back the surface and expose the bare metal.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names