Fordmods Logo

Can i put a stereo in my new FG ute? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Can i put a stereo in my new FG ute?
Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 3:54 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 4

Joined: 16th Dec 2008

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG falcon ute

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

I have one 1000w mono block amp, one 4 channel 750 watt amp, two 10"subs, 4 6by9 speakers, and a fairly complex head unit.

Is it possible for me to put it in without causing any technical problems?

 

_________________

FORD POWER!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i put a stereo in my new FG ute?
Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 12:48 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 114

Joined: 27th Dec 2008

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EB Falcon

Location: Bundoora
VIC, Australia

i got a ba xr6 trying to think of a cool way to put an after market set im mine

 

_________________

'Hoon- related' offences are:
Improper use of a motor vehicle, where the driver has intentionally caused one or more tyres to lose traction.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i put a stereo in my new FG ute?
Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 1:41 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Don't know about FG, but in BA/BF we used to put them where the tissue box is under the factory unit and basically intercept the wires to the speakers from the factory head unit.. looked good and worked well enough.

you could use the amp and subs if the amp has hi level in.. but no RCA output on the factory deck so if you can't fit the aftermarket headunit in the FG, then you'll have to use hi level to connect the factory deck to the amp..

think the BF has 5x7 speakers, don't know about FG sorry.

rgds

Frank
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i put a stereo in my new FG ute?
Posted: Sun May 03, 2009 2:20 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 4

Joined: 7th Aug 2006

Ride: G6ETurbo

Location: Mt Barker
SA, Australia

frankieh wrote:
Don't know about FG, but in BA/BF we used to put them where the tissue box is under the factory unit and basically intercept the wires to the speakers from the factory head unit.. looked good and worked well enough.

you could use the amp and subs if the amp has hi level in.. but no RCA output on the factory deck so if you can't fit the aftermarket headunit in the FG, then you'll have to use hi level to connect the factory deck to the amp..

think the BF has 5x7 speakers, don't know about FG sorry.

rgds

Frank


FG's use 6 1/2" speakers in the doors
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can i put a stereo in my new FG ute?
Posted: Tue May 05, 2009 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1273

Joined: 30th Sep 2007

Ride: g6e 2009

Location: hiding in the bushes
WA, Australia

have had a look in my mates g6e looks like it will be a pain to puta head unit in the tissue box spot like on a ba/bf. the fg stereo is mp3, why do you want to change it? maybe just upgrade the speakers and run an amp or 2
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:18 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names