Fordmods Logo

can this stereo take 2 amplifiers ?? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: can this stereo take 2 amplifiers ??
Posted: Sat May 17, 2008 7:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Alpine CDM-7859RB does anyone know if this deck can take 2 amplifiers ????
thanks :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 17, 2008 7:09 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

List say's 1 pre out.

So 1x stereo amp.

Hell it'd run 5 amps, but with NO functions to control them.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 12:33 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

You could run two if one amp has rca outputs on it. But as mentioned above (kinda) you would be controlling both amps as if they were one. Say if you were running one for speakers and one for sub/s if you turned the sub control down on the deck it would turn everything down.

hope this helps!

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 3:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

apparently it will sound bad if it isnt tuned or somthing like that ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 5:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

shazza9275 wrote:
apparently it will sound bad if it isnt tuned or somthing like that ?


No not true at all, BUT after it is setup and tuned you can't adjust it on the run....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 6:37 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

No not true at all, BUT after it is setup and tuned you can't adjust it on the run....




ok so id only adjust the amp, im throwing in to suit the sub and bass thats ok ? but so that means i could just put it all in and it should sound ok ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 7:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

It all depends on what you are using and how you set it up.
I am running a 2ch and a 4ch amp all active and all from 1 pair of pre-outs from the head unit, although I do have an active crossover that allows adjustment.

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

all amps will sound ok as long as set to low pass when untuned.

but tuning the amp will sound 100 times better

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 8:50 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

tuning needs to be done professionally ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun May 18, 2008 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

not neccessarily even b eing tuned by an amatuer who has a good ear for music can make a drastic improvement.

Basically just put volume to where you want it and the frequency to about 80htz for all round music, the lower the frequency the less bass notes it will play.(will only play the heavier bass notes), this help eliminate droning.

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 19, 2008 3:14 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yer thats what im kind of chasing is an adapter for my RCA cable instead of re running another set of rca's from the deck again. is there an adapter which will allow me, from my kenwood deck i can use the set of rca's and split it into 4 ports or sumtin like that ??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 19, 2008 5:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

go to strathfield and get 2 x single female to double male rca splitters.

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 12:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hi
ive split up the RCA's that i had running to my kenwood amp because my deck couldnt support 2 amps and i when i turn the ignition on and off it sounds like there is a short rush of power and its like the speakers just pump out a bit of bass why does it do this ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 3:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 717

Joined: 12th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: fg xr6t manual, xe 351 ute

Location: penrith, sydney
NSW, Australia

i believe its got something to do with the way the headdeck activates the amp. Every pioneer deck i've ever heard does it too. The deck isn't broken its just something that happens. You get used to it. Just make sure everything is sufficiently shielded and you'll be right

 

_________________

Current cars
1983 XE Ute - xf front, worked 351, straight gas
2010 Fg xr6t manual - stock

ex cars
80 series cruiser, ba xt, ea s-pac (xr6 test model), ke laser.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 4:22 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

so it wont blow my sub or anything like that ?
will it do any damage to any of my wiring or equipment ?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:14 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names