Fordmods Logo

Carputer in XR6 Turbo 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 37 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:52 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

I should have used a Micro-ATX, but all I could find was a standard ATX. If I were doing it again I would wait to find the right one, but I specifically wanted -

- onboard Sound (for the kids headphones)
- at least 4 PCI slots (sound card, network card, USB card)
- AGP slot (at least 4x)
- no ISA slot
- no onboard LAN
- no onboard video

It's no big problem, the box still fits inside the spare tire.
Image

I had a lot of the components sitting around from old computers, and what I didn't have I got off ebay. For the power supply, I used a 300 Watt, 12 Volt PSU

Image

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 1:35 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 340

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Ride: NL Fairlane Ghia

Location: Geelong, Victoria
VIC, Australia

defenitly looks good man,
would love to try this mod, but 1st i need the cash
lol

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:35 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Good work Pandaman! Definately impressive.
Keep it up!

What are you doing navigation wise? Keyboard and mouse?


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 9:24 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

justfordima wrote:
What are you doing navigation wise? Keyboard and mouse?
At the moment I am using a wireless mouse and the on-screen keyboard.

I will eventually have a touch screen overlay on top of the factory ICC screen

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 12:50 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

yeah I was thinking about that... but they're way to expensive for what they are... pain in the a**. There's some better ideas out there, check out www.mp3car.com... some bright ideas get brought up on there about it.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:21 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

justfordima wrote:
yeah I was thinking about that... but they're way to expensive for what they are... pain in the a**. There's some better ideas out there, check out www.mp3car.com... some bright ideas get brought up on there about it.


Cheers
Been a member of MP3Car.com for a while now, I still haven't found a better option than touchscreen. In my opinion -

- wireless mouse rolls around the car and is harder to click on something - definately can't do it on the move (safely)
- joystick movement is 'clunky' - hard to get on the right icon / tab etc
- trackball is to bulky

I've tried the mouse and the trackball, touchscreen will be next. Will let you know how it works out.

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:29 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Nice custom box you have there. Im doing the same thing at the moment. I have an old AT case im cutting up and modding. Onboard everything so that i can make it as small as possible.

Looks really good there

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 25, 2006 11:30 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i must say mate that looks great =D i was going to chuck my dying desktop into my car but i just cbf. looks awesome =D

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2007 5:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

I've been playing around with my carputer and I thought I might post up some pics.

I was never really happy with my first effort at building the case, it did the job but looked cheap. (hell, it was cheap)
Image

I have made a new case, similar but better. This one is slightly higher (120mm instead of 80mm) because I figure there is no point saving space above the carputer, you can't put anything on top of it anyway. This allows me to use a bigger fan 120mm instead of 80mm (106CFM as opposed to 65CFM) and it also means that I don't have to limit myself to low profile PCI cards now.

Please bear in mind, this is just a mock up - I know it needs cleaning up.
Empty Case
Image

Case with M/B
Image

Case with M/B and fan
Image

Case with M/B, fan and PCI cards
Image

Case with M/B, fan, PCI cards and HDD
Image

Case with M/B, fan, PCI cards, HDD and DVD
Image

I wasn't going to have a DVD, but for the sake of ease I decided to put one in, plus I found it cheap on eBay. (only $10 + $6.80 postage - bargain)
This is how I was going to have it before getting the DVD
Image

Anyway, this is the finished product from the top.
Image

There's a bit of room on the top right corner, I might stick another 120mm fan in there. That's it for now, but I'm sure this will change again soon.

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Video Card
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 9:43 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 1

Joined: 14th Jul 2005

Ride: escort rs2000

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just a quick one. I'm starting to plan to do the same. Just wanted to know which video card you used?? Brand etc...

What kind of graphics does it support?? Can you run a DVD/Divx video through it ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:32 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 110

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA XR8

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

Pandaman72 wrote:
P3 866MHz Processor, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, AGP Arcade VGA Video Card 128MB, PCI Sound Card, PCI Wireless Network Card.

Doesn't seem like a powerful machine, but there is almost nothing running on it, so boot time is less than 30 seconds, resume from standby in about 5 seconds

Panda


specs were on page one- Arcade VGA, dunno what it supports tho
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Card
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:15 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

danielrs2k wrote:
Just a quick one. I'm starting to plan to do the same. Just wanted to know which video card you used?? Brand etc...

What kind of graphics does it support?? Can you run a DVD/Divx video through it ?
It's an Arcade VGA card (AGP).

Since I posted all of this things have changed a lot. My wife fell pregnant with our 4th child, so the XR6 Turbo had to go, sad sad day.

What was even sadder is that I bought a Honda Odyssey (112 kW) - what a heap of sh*t.

Anyway, I am modifing the carputer to go into the Honda, but it doesn't have a factory screen like the XR did, so if you want a cheap second hand Arcade VGA card, I still have it sitting in my shed.

Actually, I still have a fair bit of Ford specific stuff sitting in my shed if you are interested.

Didn't mean to turn this into a 'For Sale' post, just thought I would throw that in.

There's also a link in my signature that might answer some questions.

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 675

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

another quick question pandaman, wat type of power source did u use for ur install, it was a normal atx 240v pc power supply running of a 12v to 240v inverter hey,

im venturing into this carputer scene just wanted to know with ur new setup if u were still gonna run the inverter or maybe one of those opus power suplies or maybe the dc-dc converters..
cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2007 3:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

dsnow_01 wrote:
another quick question pandaman, wat type of power source did u use for ur install, it was a normal atx 240v pc power supply running of a 12v to 240v inverter hey,
The PSU is from here - http://www.switchbox.com.au/12v-atx-power-supply-p-43.html It's 12 volt supply.

dsnow_01 wrote:
im venturing into this carputer scene just wanted to know with ur new setup if u were still gonna run the inverter or maybe one of those opus power suplies or maybe the dc-dc converters..
cheers
I'm still going to run this one.

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Video Card
Posted: Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:52 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 4

Joined: 2nd Feb 2007

Location: Ballarat
VIC, Australia

Pandaman72 wrote:
Actually, I still have a fair bit of Ford specific stuff sitting in my shed if you are interested. Panda


Can I ask what you have exactly?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:05 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names