Fordmods Logo

carputer 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 28 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: carputer
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 9:20 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: XF Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

G'day

Anyone run one in their car?

I'm looking into it to play dvds, tune my ms-2 in the car without the laptop and be able to datalogue all the time rather than having to have the laptop to do it.

Cheers

 

_________________

If its too loud your too old!!!!!!!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 11:20 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

I've got a carputer running in my BF XR6 Turbo, couple of points.

- carputer audio goes to the factory headunit
- carputer video goes to the factory display (still ironing out a problem though)
- 7000 MP3's, 50 DVD's on HDD = hours of entertainment
- GPS receiver combined with Google Earth gives me Sat Nav (almost)
- wireless network card gives me access to internet at Wireless Access Points
- plan to install screens in the headrests, combined with headphones so that I can have the Sat Nav being displayed on the ICC, with whatever music I want on the cars speakers, while the kids are watching a DVD / playing a game / surfing the net in the backseat with the headsets on listening to whatever they want
- plan to connect the phone to the cars stereo (ie phone rings, volume mutes, use handsfree)
- plan to hook up the On Board Diagnostics (having trouble finding a CAN-bus reader though)

A lot of work has been done, but there's a lot to go. Well worth it though!

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

check out www.mp3car.com

might be a step in the right direction

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 6:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 347

Joined: 28th Nov 2004

Ride: XF Wagon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

G'day

Good information on that site.

I've got a carputer running in my BF XR6 Turbo, couple of points.

- carputer audio goes to the factory headunit
- carputer video goes to the factory display (still ironing out a problem though)
- 7000 MP3's, 50 DVD's on HDD = hours of entertainment
- GPS receiver combined with Google Earth gives me Sat Nav (almost)
- wireless network card gives me access to internet at Wireless Access Points
- plan to install screens in the headrests, combined with headphones so that I can have the Sat Nav being displayed on the ICC, with whatever music I want on the cars speakers, while the kids are watching a DVD / playing a game / surfing the net in the backseat with the headsets on listening to whatever they want
- plan to connect the phone to the cars stereo (ie phone rings, volume mutes, use handsfree)
- plan to hook up the On Board Diagnostics (having trouble finding a CAN-bus reader though)

A lot of work has been done, but there's a lot to go. Well worth it though!

Panda


Sounds great, how much did that cost you to set up? Did you do it yourself or did you buy it through somewhere.

Cheers

 

_________________

If its too loud your too old!!!!!!!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:15 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 3

Joined: 23rd May 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hey Pandaman72,

If you want a great SatNav system have a look at:

http://www.freedrive.co.uk/

This software is easy to use. You will need to buy Destinator 3 to get the maps, I can arrange something there :wink: and away you go.

What power supply and case are you using?

Cheers

Shaun
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:57 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

Pane wrote:
Sounds great, how much did that cost you to set up? Did you do it yourself or did you buy it through somewhere.

I did it myself. Bought a motherboard and the HDD from Ebay, had all the other stuff lying around.

To buy all of that stuff second hand and put it together yourself, probably $500.

To buy a ready made unit, probably $1000

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

4LtrXFTurbo wrote:
If you want a great SatNav system have a look at:

http://www.freedrive.co.uk/

This software is easy to use. You will need to buy Destinator 3 to get the maps, I can arrange something there :wink: and away you go.
I'm tyring to avoid buying anything

4LtrXFTurbo wrote:
What power supply and case are you using?
On the MP3 Car Forums, everyone whinges about the lack of power so I decided to buy a Power Supply Unit (PSU) that had heaps of grunt. I came across this
Image
which has heaps of power, but no startup / shutdown controller. I don't mind it though. Never have to consider the power usage of any application or piece of hardware.

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

Pane wrote:
Sounds great, how much did that cost you to set up? Did you do it yourself or did you buy it through somewhere.

I did it myself. Bought a motherboard and the HDD from Ebay, had all the other stuff lying around.

To buy all of that stuff second hand and put it together yourself, probably $500.

To buy a ready made unit, probably $1000

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Desktop PC???
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 486

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: EB S1 3.9L Bush basher

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Did you use a carputer or a normal desktop pc, I was wanting to do a computer in my car but I dunno how to power a desktop PC in a car (will it drain he batt too much etc.). Where should I put it? Is it possible to hook it up to my car stereo? Is it possible to mount a dvd burner in the Din slot?
Will draw a diagram of what I wanna do and can someone please tell me if it is possible?

 

_________________

I dont care how fast your car is, mine goes faster through the bush.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Desktop PC???
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 5:54 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

willygrice wrote:
Did you use a carputer or a normal desktop pc
basically all of the bits are what you would find from a 5 year old computer. You can't use brand new stuff (P4's etc) because they just draw too much power. The upside to this is that it makes it very cheap.

willygrice wrote:
will it drain the batt too much etc
I have a seperate battery in the boot so that even if I forget to turn the carputer off, it will not kill the cars battery.

willygrice wrote:
Where should I put it
I plan to have mine under the spare tyre, but heat is an issue at the moment

willygrice wrote:
Is it possible to hook it up to my car stereo
What type of head unit do you have?

willygrice wrote:
Is it possible to mount a dvd burner in the Din slot
Anything is possible, but every extra piece of hardware will add to the complexity / price / power consumption / heat

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 486

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: EB S1 3.9L Bush basher

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Thanks heeps that is a great help. The specs I want for my carputer is a 80gb hd or more, a dvd burner (hopefully dash mounted) and TV (I have a tv card in my current computer that I shall be using. How old a computer can I get that can run that hardware.

 

_________________

I dont care how fast your car is, mine goes faster through the bush.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 486

Joined: 23rd Sep 2005

Ride: EB S1 3.9L Bush basher

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

also how do you power your computer, do you use an inverter, or something else?

 

_________________

I dont care how fast your car is, mine goes faster through the bush.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:30 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

just get a micro motherboard...they dont draw too much power but u are limited to how many pci slots u can use. to power it u can get a 12v DC inverter from the net....my friend has a desktop computer in his car and works fine. has everything. GPS, TV, DVDs, music, video clips....had to install a 2nd battery and uses a solar panel to charge the battery if he ever decides to park the car outside of his garage. seems to work

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:58 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 100

Joined: 19th Jan 2006

Ride: XR6 Turbo

Location: Gladstone, CQ
QLD, Australia

willygrice wrote:
a 80gb hd or more
I went for a 200G HDD so that I can save everything to it and don't have to worry about having a DVD player. Everything (MP3's and DVD's) are stored on the HDD

willygrice wrote:
How old a computer can I get that can run that hardware.
P3, 1 - 1.5 GHz should be fine

willygrice wrote:
also how do you power your computer, do you use an inverter, or something else?
I use a 12 Volt 300W PSU -
Image
Also, what pongus said makes sense. I also have a second battery which provides power to the carputer. When the car is off, the second battery is disconnected from the car battery, so I will never kill the cars battery if I leave the carputer on accidentally.

Solar panel is a good idea though.

Panda

 

_________________

Image
Car - Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo, Pioneer front speakers, Fusion Subwoofer, Centre Muffler removed
Carputer- P3 966MHz, 256MB RAM, 200GB HDD, 300W PSU, MP3, DVD, Sat-Nav, Digital TV Tuner

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Pandaman72 wrote:
willygrice wrote:
a 80gb hd or more
I went for a 200G HDD so that I can save everything to it and don't have to worry about having a DVD player. Everything (MP3's and DVD's) are stored on the HDD

willygrice wrote:
How old a computer can I get that can run that hardware.
P3, 1 - 1.5 GHz should be fine

willygrice wrote:
also how do you power your computer, do you use an inverter, or something else?
I use a 12 Volt 300W PSU -
Image
Also, what pongus said makes sense. I also have a second battery which provides power to the carputer. When the car is off, the second battery is disconnected from the car battery, so I will never kill the cars battery if I leave the carputer on accidentally.

Solar panel is a good idea though.

Panda


Where do you get the 12V PSU Units? I am seriously thinking of doing this as i have a PIII 800 board and s**t loads of ram. I got a 2.5" 20Gb HDD that i would be using. Later i can always get a GPS unit for the computer.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names