Fordmods Logo

Clarion 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 44 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:34 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

G'day guys,

just bought 2 subs (300rms) each, a clarion 4ch amp (only 400watt I think) would it have enough power to make these subs really pump? I have no extended knowledge about sound systems, but was told by many that it should be fine to run them both?

Any help would be great, thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:21 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Anyone?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:25 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The amp can power the subs, but the subs won't see the full potential...which can be a good thing because you won't be able to blow them...better than over powering the subs till they blow.

Not sure what you mean by "really pump", but they will suffice in playing loud bass (depending on set up/tune etc.)

Make sure you don't run the amp too hard to the point it clips the signal which in turn could cause damage to the subs.

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 1:41 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I just want it to be quite loud from inside the cabin.

I got him to play a 250rms clarion in the sound room, and it was shaking the whole room
, not sure what amp he was using to power it.

By really pump, I mean the people in the backseat feeling the hair on the back of their neck stand up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 7:57 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So overpowering subs is bad.

To get the most performance out of 2 300rms subs, what kind of amp would you have to be running, keeping in mind it's 600rms all up.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

personally i would try to run them on around 250W rms each this way u can crank up the volume and be safe for extended periods of time

they will run pretty well on 200W RMS but not terrifically if u wanted to hit there max potential and still be safe ull prob need about 280W RMS each

never go over somethings max RMS eg: pumping 400W RMS into each of those sub if u turn the volume up ull prob have confetti raining

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 8:33 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ok so they're single 4 ohm voice coils, running 300 rms,
and amp is Power, @ 4-Ohm, 60w x 4
Power @ 2-Ohm, 90w x 4
Bridged Power @ 4-Ohm, 100w x 2
so should be running 240watt?

I'm guessing that's how it works, no idea about this kind of stuff.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Fri Nov 26, 2010 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

amp power is very easy to work out if your given all the info

so for eg:
Power, @ 4-Ohm, 60w x 4
Power @ 2-Ohm, 90w x 4
so bridged power should be
4-Ohm 180W X2

to get ur bridged just get the channels ur bridging together and add there power together from the 2ohm output and u will have ur 4ohm output in bridged

how does this work ?

its simple the amp only applies 2ohm to each channel that are bridged together so the ohms build on each other and so does the power

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 6:24 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So that would be 360watt, would it overpower the sub? 900w/300rms?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

it would depend if the amp is capable of bridging all channels to one 360W RMS is in the warranty void area not many amps can bridge all channels into one i would recommend a monoblock amp

the amp u have inst capable of running your setup u have its not suited to it

i would recommend

2 of these Pioneer GM-D7400M

for a safe fun

but for maximum

2 of these

Pioneer GM-D8400M

use your 4 channel amp u have to run your speakers 60W each channel is some pretty good speakers there but that does mean getting new speakers all round to suit 60W RMS each speaker

i also hope u have taken into account the cost of wiring as wiring in 2X300W amps would be costly depends were u get it from but i recommend aeropro wiring its a good budget setup

i would recommend running 1 wire from your battery to your boot and then spliting it up to run all your amps

i would recommend using 2GA wire for the big wire that run to the boot then in series (all from the tip of the 2GA) run prob about 8-6GA wire from your 2GA to your amps

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 5:22 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hi well the store rep told me the amp should be fine, he's a Rockford rep. Can't really change my mine now, it's all paid for, I'll see how it sounds, may be able to get a refund and add a little more for a better one.

As for wiring, I got a wiring kit, the rep also told me is enough, we will just have to see how it goes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

one thing ive learned is never trust salesmen they lie and s**t to get you to buy stuff and they will always point u towards what makes them the most money

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 7:48 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeah true,

but would it be bad for the 2 subs?

I just want it to be heard from quite a distance.

Hopefully the amp can power it enough for that.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sat Nov 27, 2010 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 510

Joined: 8th Aug 2010

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

it will power them just at half there potential

 

_________________

NF Fairlane Ghia, Brand New Leather Interior, Wallnut All Through, 800W RMS JL Audio Sound System, Lowered King Springs And Monroe GT Shocks, Custom BA/GT Air Intake, Holley Highflow, Simmons B45's, Going To Be Supercharged At 9-12psi With Stage 4 Head And Cam With Pacemakers And 3" Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Clarion
Posted: Sun Nov 28, 2010 6:17 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 83

Joined: 16th Sep 2010

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

So will it be pushing, (60*4) 240w?

So 240wrms? Better than overpowering the sub isn't it?

Your feedback has been very helpful, thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 44 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 3:47 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names