Custom Boot Install 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

Post subject: Custom Boot Install
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 10:54 am 
Parts Gopher

Ride: BF MKII Xr6

NSW, Australia

Good day guys,

A mate of mine wired up two subs for me to a monoblock. Used a dual sealed box bought from a shop. The problem now is, if I need the spare I'll have to disconnect the subs take the subs+box out just to get to it.

After browsing the Show and Tell topic, I figured a custom boot install would be a great way to solve this. I'm only new with cars audio systems as such, but seems to be a fair few people on here that have awesome ideas.

Materials used I guess are mdf (suggestions on mm?), carpeting, glue, jigsaw, and cardboard for templates, anything else that I should be getting? As I said I'm new to all this and will take any advice I can get.

Have a great day.

Post subject: Re: Custom Boot Install
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:38 pm 
Parts Gopher

NSW, Australia

Also does http://www.crutchfield.com/S-J8jEzrwQ8d ... lding.html sound right in building?

If so I will probably end up building 3 "boxes", one for each sub and a free sealed box in the middle that will probably have a cutout for the amp and holes to run the leads. Then just gluing all the boxes together and carpeting them.

Then probably just get mdf for the floor and have a trapdoor hinge opening for the spare tyre, carpeted of course.

Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 12:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: NF Fairlane Ghia

strength is the key when building a box
i didnt see anything in there about bracing the box (its strength adding and will help prevent just one on the pieces vibrating so the whole box will vibrate instead of just a few pieces so you will be able to have the sub louder without it distorting as easily)