Fordmods Logo

Custom install issues 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Custom install issues
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 12:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Apr 2005

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

I have just had a custome install in my AU, I have a pioneer HU running into a Axis amp which supplies all the speakers and a Venom Sub. My problem is whenever I start the car (ignition on) the sub has a pop sound, like there is a little noise going through, and on top of that whenever the sound terminates then comes back on during play(muting etc), the speakers also make a pop sorta sound, maybe closer to a single crackle. Does anyone know what the cause of this is and how to fix it?

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 1:08 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

The pop is just your amp turning on. I'm not exactly sure what it does, but more expensive amps don't do it. You can get some sort of suppressor for it, that absorbs the pop from going through your speakers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 1:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Apr 2005

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Thanks for that. Its not too bad but I was a little concerned that it was something going wrong with it.

I guess I'll have to put up with it for now.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 1:59 pm 
Fordmods Audio and Turbo Expert
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 2121

Joined: 14th Dec 2004

Ride: FG Turbo Territoty Ghia

Location: Traralgon
VIC, Australia

The noise is caused by the amp powering up at the same time it is getting signal from the headunit. You need to delay one of them to avoid the problem. The easiest way is to delay the amp turning on so the headunit is already on and providing signal when the amp powers up. There is a 2sec dealy device that delays the remote turn on for amps from Aerpro for about $15. Try one of those. You can test it yourself manually. Power the system up then connect the remote turn on wire and see if it makes a difference.

If it still does it you may need a noise gate (expensive and a hastle to fit) or a better amp.

PS i have owned a couple of the AXIS amps and have not had the turn on pop problem. It may be the headunit itself.

 

_________________


Pro Class
1st Super Tech - Summernats 2007
Australian SQ Champion - Am Show 2004
Australian SQ Champion – Pro Show 2006 & Best of Show
Ford Champion - Melbourne 2004 & 2006
451.5wkw - now SOLD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 2:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

Well in that case - I have the same situation. They are MA Audio Amps I just had brought back from the US.

I will have to find one of those thingies from Aerpro too.

I should have given myself the advice first
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 2:10 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

And done.... Autobarn mackay quote $23.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 3:53 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Apr 2005

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

pyroay wrote:
There is a 2sec dealy device that delays the remote turn on for amps from Aerpro for about $15.


Where do I fit it to? As in which wires. I'm new to the amp and sub thing. Is it the floating wire that is on the RCA cable? If so, where else does it need to be connected to?

Cheers!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 3:56 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Apr 2005

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

What about the speakers when the unit is on already? There is a pop noise when I reduce volume to zero, then turn it back on and it pops or crackles.

Any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 4:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 3885

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII XR6 Turbo

Location: Victor Harbor
SA, Australia

Yeah i also have an axis amp and it does not make the pop noise... I would think that it would be a problem coming from else where.

 

_________________

Image -BF MKII XR6 Turbo in EGO-

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 4:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 5

Joined: 16th Apr 2005

Location: Whyalla
SA, Australia

Cool. Might go and buy a new pioneer then! It is a secondhand unit and did have a custom setup attached to it previously, but not sure exactly. I'll see how I go.

One thing though, the dude installing did have to put on something, forget the name of it, but it went between the RCA's on the amp and HU to reduce engine noise. This wouldnt have anything to do with it would it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 04, 2005 5:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

The little unit has 2 earth wires, and a red and a blue one. Red one connects to the headunit's remote wire and the blue goes to the amps.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names