Fordmods Logo

DVD player in BA 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: DVD player in BA
Posted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

hey there
I wanna put my indash pioneer dvd player into my BA in the tissue box area like a few people have done. I know how to mount it but not sure about the wiring.. Can I piggyback it so I can use the speakers for both the stock stereo and my dvd player, or do I have to unplug stock stereo and not be able 2 use it and plug it into the dvd player?

Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:28 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

you can't run an aftermarket headunit using the standard speakers if they are still connected to the stock headunit - you have to cut the wires and totally disconnect from the cars stock system and connect only to the aftermarket system
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

so there is no way around it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

what about aftermarket speakers, obviously u could wire them up to aftermarket deck, but has anybody mounted them somewhere other then rear parcel shelf so u can run both stock speakers and aftermarket?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1013

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: MY06 REX

Location: Perthoslavakia
WA, Australia

You could connect the pioneer deck to the aux in of the ICC. My dvd player rca's run that way (near the fuse panel). Decent sound quality too.

 

_________________

The Evil Strawberry

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:09 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

eb_guy888 wrote:
so there is no way around it?


nope, lots of info here
http://www.caraudioaustralia.com/forums ... opic=68978

and here
http://www.fordforums.com.au/showthread.php?t=55398

you could always run your own cables and simply disconnect the stock speakers and connect the stock ones to your dvd player - or, fit inline switches to each speaker to isolate them from the ICC but it wouldn't be too practical

i've tried pulling the fuse for the stock headunit and not cutting the wires but all that happens is i blew the fuse in the alpine unit - the speakers are powered from the ICC not the stock headunit so that's why the cables have to be cut
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

KTASTRPHE wrote:
You could connect the pioneer deck to the aux in of the ICC. My dvd player rca's run that way (near the fuse panel). Decent sound quality too.


that's the only way, unfortunately tho you end up using the ICC still to power the speakers - the stock system isn't as good as aftermarket, the sound is taylored to make the crappy speakers soundd the best possible - you will get much better sound if you disconnect from the ICC - depends what you want really, if you're happy with that then it's all good
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 3:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

dddp! wrote:
you can't run an aftermarket headunit using the standard speakers if they are still connected to the stock headunit - you have to cut the wires and totally disconnect from the cars stock system and connect only to the aftermarket system



Erh YES you can! I have a DVD player in my tissue box holder that is connected into the AUX port using a aftermarket kit. The DVD player plays back through the factory speakers when the stock head unit is selected to AUX or outputs to the roof mounted screen at anytime, the kids then just use infra-red headphones.
I do not have this head unit connected to the aerial as I don't use it as a radio. It can however be connected using a aerial splitter.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 5:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

yep

dddp! wrote:
that's the only way, unfortunately tho you end up using the ICC still to power the speakers - the stock system isn't as good as aftermarket, the sound is taylored to make the crappy speakers soundd the best possible - you will get much better sound if you disconnect from the ICC - depends what you want really, if you're happy with that then it's all good


when i said it's taylored to make the crappy speakers sound good, it's someone elses definition of good, not mine

it's ok if you don't mind that setup - but really if you want the best sound you have to cut the ICC out of the speaker loom

edit, i'm sorry if this came over wrong - we all have diferent situations i guess

asl logistics are the people who fix these units for ford- they have lots of stuff for them
http://www.asllogistics.com/ford_upgrades.html
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 8:02 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

I've got mine hooked up entirely separate to the factory HU. To the point of running my own speaker wire to all the speakers. I can completely remove the DVD HU, swap the stock wiring back onto the speakers and have the stock HU fully functional.

I moved the speaker connections from the stock speakers onto the new ones I put in. So the old wiring will plug back in. So when I take the car back to stock, the new owner will have some nice speakers.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1013

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: MY06 REX

Location: Perthoslavakia
WA, Australia

And... if I end up trading in my BA this week I might have the little box for sale that will let you play dvd through the stock ICC screen... and let you retain the Air con etc visuals.

 

_________________

The Evil Strawberry

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

i dont have premium sound so I cannot run dvd through my stock icc screen. So I can connect my dvd indash player to the aux in of the stock system and then I can use both through stock speakers yeh?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 8:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

eb_guy888 wrote:
i dont have premium sound so I cannot run dvd through my stock icc screen. So I can connect my dvd indash player to the aux in of the stock system and then I can use both through stock speakers yeh?


Yes, you can. Though mine was installed by a shop in Frankston, so I'm not aware of where he got the interface cable from.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 11:47 am 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

ahhh don't use the stock speakers. They're crappy (understatement).

If you still want to retain the stock HU (it isn't so bad, once speakers are upgraded), invest in some upgraded speakers. Hertz and Boston make some very nice 5x7's that screw right in. Or if you're happy to make up some MDF mounts, any 6" speaker will work.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 24, 2007 1:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 812

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6t

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

ive got the boston 5x7s and they dont sound too bad. If you really want to run it through the stock speakers you could plug the new headunit into the aux input of the existing hu, nopt too sure how it will sound though.

 

_________________

Rides:
-Ba xr6t, wog cooler, K&N pod on custom intake, battery moved to other side, flash, custom cooler piping, presons auto, car pc, 19" lenso speed 6, going for 300rwkw
-FZR 250- run around bike

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names