Fordmods Logo

EB Series 1 and JVC KD-DV5306 Headunit Installation Problems 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EB Series 1 and JVC KD-DV5306 Headunit Installation Problems
Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 5:16 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 1st Jan 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi All,

First time post, although a long time reader of the forum. Have been able to gt all the answers I need without having to write, but the time has come.

I have an EB series 1 falcon GL and purchased the JVC KD-DV5306 DVD/CD receiver. I took the easy option of wiring it in using an aerpro http://www.aerpro.com/list.php?pcode=71 ... no=adapter to hook into the OEM loom. I had to separately install rear speakers and wire as the EB 1 didn't come with rear speakers or the wiring.

The unit plays ok, but it has the annoying habit of resetting itself ie it loses its preset radio stations and settings, and goes back to demo mode. I returned the original unit to the store and they gave me a new one, problem is the new one does the same. Beginning to doubt my wiring, but difficult to get it wrong with the aerpro adapter. The only other non standard fitting in the car is a Cyclops s661 alarm.

Any help or ideas would be appreciated.

Cheers
Seddo
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 4:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 156

Joined: 2nd Nov 2005

Ride: EA Fairmont

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Hi There

Not sure if it will help but......

I used an Aerpro adapter on my EA. I had exactly the same problem as you.

After a bit of checking, I realised that Aerpro had somehow reversed ( swapped ) the
12v Constant ( Batt + ) and the Acc ( Ignition ) wires on the connector.

Swapping the 2 wire connections solved the problem for me and perhaps for you too ??

Good Luck
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 21, 2008 10:38 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 1st Jan 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Thanks Gutza,

But no luck. Changed them over, but unit wouldn't display the clock when the was ignition off. I am now down to 3 possibilities

1) The alarm somehow interfers with it
2) I use the original slide guides to hold the unit in, and maybe they were too far back and causing the wires in the loom that connects to the head unit to lose contact with the pins.
3) I need to try and different 12+constant, because for some reason it could be getting cut off. I was wondering if the ecu could be doing something here?

Tonight I have gone with No 2, and put some spacers in to bring the unit forward more. Will see how that goes.

Cheers
Seddo
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

id go with number 3... run a wire straight from your battery to the headunit input then test the unit a few times and see if it helps

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 12:12 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 19

Joined: 15th Apr 2008

Ride: Thumpin XF

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i had a sony head unit which did the same thing, all i did was hook up a wire straight from the positive of the battery and spliced it in with the 12v and now it works a charm

 

_________________

Apparently, 1 in 5 people in the world are Chinese. And there are 5 people in my family, so it must be one of them. It's either my mum or my dad. Or my older brother Colin. Or my younger brother Ho-Chan-Chu. But I think it's Colin.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 3:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 189

Joined: 5th Mar 2007

Ride: 94 Futura

Location: Midland
WA, Australia

Use a meter or a bulb and measure it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EB Series 1 and JVC KD-DV5306 Headunit Installation Problems
Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 1:46 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 4

Joined: 1st Jan 2008

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

I would love to say this is all fixed, but it ain't. i have taken the unit back under warranty, and they gave me a new one. Same problem. I have done a few things in the following order to no avail

1) Spliced a single wire to the positve terminal on the battery - Didn't work

2) Spliced a single wire to the positive terminal on the battery and ran an additional earth - Didn't work

3) Spliced a single wire to the positive terminal on the battery and ran an additional earth - Didn't work and a wire to the negative terminal - Didn't work.

3) Bought a new battery - Made no difference, although interesting to note, I got a spark when connecting the positive terminal. I wonder if this means it is shorting somewhere?

I am just beginning to think that these JVC units are crap. never happened with the original unit, but did get a crackle in the front left speaker which is why I changed it. I don't get the crackle with the new unit, but I do get the intermittent resetting problem.

If anyone has any new advice happy to hear it.

Thanks
Seddo
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:04 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names