Fordmods Logo

EL factory premo sound CD error #repaired 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EL factory premo sound CD error #repaired
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Was just driving along today listening to a CD on my factory premo sound system when I noticed after a while that there was no sound. The CD display had 1 Err showing. When I got home I opened the boot and pressed the CD stacker's eject button but it didn't light up and didn't make a sound. Dead.
Have any of you guys had this fault before?

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Last edited by Vic on Wed Apr 20, 2005 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check the plugs at the rear of the stacker to ensure they havnt worked their way loose, also if its possible check the din plug for the stacker at the rear of the HU. if all is ok check for 12 volts at the stacker which should be on all the time. and possibly a 12 feed from the HU when switched on. the cartridge should eject even with the key off. it may just need to be unplugged then powered up again to reset it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

I checked the plug behind the stacker when I got home but it was secure. I'll be checking the plug behind the HU too. But I'm still curious what the 1 Err code actually equals?

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You will need the repair manual for the stacker to find out what the codes represent. not really worth it. just try unplugging the stacker and power it up again. also sometimes there is a reset button on the front. im not sure with these models tho.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i just looked in your gallery, nice choice of car as its the same as mine but you have the 5ltr. anyways if you need a hand im in se melbourne, dont hesitate to drop me a line.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 422

Joined: 25th Feb 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: HOT EL

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

Joolz
lol, what with the " EL fairmont ghia" but your pics show a Commodore ?

 

_________________

The Lion Tamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

there isn't any reference to Err 1 in the factory manual.. sorry!

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the commo was my cousins, was trying to sell it on here!
the error codes will not be in the ford manual.... more like an Alpine repair manual.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 52

Posts: 4370

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Fairlane Ghia

Location: Karratha
WA, Australia

Mine done same, but was 2ERR, my second CD in the stacker was in there, i pulled apart thr stacker, worked for a bit longer, then did it again, on disc1, bought another 2nd hand one, and its still fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Okay, ARM79 and myself removed it from the boot last night and opened it up. Found the rollers that pull the CD's from the cartridge to the laser mech had only pulled it out maybe a centimetre or so and stopped. I pushed the CD back in and reconnected the stacker back into the car and the stacker worked again. The stacker was then reassembled and refitted properly into its boot bracket and then just as I was going to leave ARM79's place I got a 2 Err code and it stopped working again.
I'm thinking that I'll pull it apart one more time and clean the rollers properly if thats the cause ( might also clean the laser lens while I have it open ) and see if that fixes it. If it doesn't then I'll just remove it altogether from the boot and save some money for a replacement later on.

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1097

Joined: 10th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: GU patrol, XH XR6, Isuzu Mux

Location: Mackay
QLD, Australia

my parents LTD gets an ERR1 all the time, its just when the stacker magezine pops out of the stacker with a disk still left inside the stacker. tryed changing magazines and it still doen the same thing. i think theres a little tooth or notch that holds the magazine in that might be a little bit bent.

 

_________________

' 96 Xh XR6 Ute
'96 DF LTD 6cy
'08 GU Nissan Patrol
'15 Isuzu MUX LST

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 7:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

in the loading mechanisms there are alot of cams and gears normally belt driven, if the belts are slipping the cycles wont be completed therfore an error may show up. its a common fault on the older vcr's.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2005 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Oh I'm well aquainted with VCR's and belts but in this case there's a cam geared motor pulling the CD's out of the cartridge via two rubber rollers onto the laser mech assy.
Mind you anytime I've ever had to repair anything belt driven, the belts usually get changed automatically. :)

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 6:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6432

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

I have since removed the stacker from the boot again and dissaembled it. I managed to manipulate the mech assy to slide the jammed CD back into the cartridge and was then able to remove the cartridge per normal. Incidently the motors and the sensors in this stacker are not available for purchase over the counter, even by someone else in the trade and apparently even Ford themselves find it hard to get parts for these stackers. Anyway I cleaned the rollers completely and cleaned the laser optics too. I also resoldered a bunch of dry joints on the P.C.B. that looked pretty bad and then made sure the mech assy was aligned properly before I reassembled it. I connected it back up in the boot and the stacker has been working normally since reinstallation. Fingers crossed that it lasts for a while longer... :)

 

_________________

5.6L of carbon footprint.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Apr 20, 2005 6:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1204

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo

Power: 303 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Damn you Vic, I've got a stacker here that I was gonna try and make some money off your a***. Ahwell, maybe next time!!!!

 

_________________

EL Fairmont Ghia V8 Turbo 303rwkw
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 7:11 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names