Fordmods Logo

EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 10:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Oct 2010

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

Got an aftermarket head unit in my EL and was wondering if there's a way to wire the head unit so that I can turn it on independently of the key being in the acc position.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:28 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 22

Posts: 337

Joined: 30th Apr 2011

Ride: '97 EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Not really possible, sorry mate. What you're talking about is a feature built into factory headunits which allow you to use the radio/cd/cassette etc. up to 1 hour in the off position. EF/ELs had that feature too.
If you wanted something like that, you'd have to buy a headunit that incorporates that feature. I don't know if they exist in aftermarket decks though...
Or, if you want to be dodgy, you can wire the constant 12v and acc 12v together so the radio is constantly on. But that would drain your battery in no time, so you would add a switch onto the accesory wire which would act as the key in the accessory possition.
Place the switch somewhere discrete for a stock look and you should be fine.
That's if you wish to do that method...

 

_________________

The EL ghia
^^^^^^^^^^

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 243

Joined: 4th Jun 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef xr6

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

u can run a switch or fun it constant power and turn it of at the head unit but it will kill your battery so probs just run a switch hidden so no ones knowes

 

_________________

EF XR6
K&N PANEL FILTER ulah, CAM, J3 CHIP, 128.3 RWKW, F6 TYPHOON RIMS, FULL TAN AND BLACK INTERIOR, CUSTOM BOOT INSTALL IN PROGRESS..
:)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Fri Feb 24, 2012 11:41 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 4

Joined: 19th Oct 2010

Ride: EL Falcon

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

Damn, thanks anyways guys.. Was hopin it was possible since its a fairly cool feature for when you want to duck into the shops and don't want to leave the keys with the passenger :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2012 11:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 138

Joined: 13th Sep 2010

Ride: '96 EL Ford Fairmonth Ghia.

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Somewhat possible as TheELghia said. Won't kill your battery either as long as you're diligent with turning the cd player off. I've had mine wired into my EL this way for over a year now and haven't had it run the battery flat as I've made sure to turn it off when not in use. I'll take some happy snaps in the next few days for you.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Wed Mar 21, 2012 5:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 22nd Nov 2011

Location: gold coast
QLD, Australia

as in turn the car off and take the keys out and leave the stereo on?

I have mine set up to do that until I open the door, as I used to sit in my car and listen to tunes and lock the keys in the car, so I wired it up like that.
I also have undervolt protection set up to cut the power if the battery go too low as I had amps etc.

My current ute is getting that, and also working to be able to turn the stereo on and off with my keyfob.

Let me know if you want a diagram for the stereo without the keys. It's very simple.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

You could wire something up to do it..

A capacitor that powers a micro relay would do it.. the capacitor starts discharging when the acc is turned off.. but until the point that it's discharged, the stereo would run.

would have to experiment with the capacitor/relay size to get the right time period.

could probably also buy an electronic timing kit from Jaycar that would cut the relay off after a set time period.. not terribly difficult electronically speaking.

I had an interior light delay in my LJ torana many many years ago that I'd built using caps and a micro relay.

cheers

Frank
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:23 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 2091

Joined: 3rd Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont, XG Ute

Thats a bloody good idea.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon. Possible to wire head unit to work like au
Posted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

SLO247 wrote:
Thats a bloody good idea.


I don't have any other sort mate. :-)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names