Fordmods Logo

Fairmont electric aerial 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Fairmont electric aerial
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 1:18 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Hi all,

Was wondering if anyone has had issues with the electric aerial in Fairmonts?

Mine is there it makes a noise, but it doesnt go up or down at all...

Anyone with ideas on how to fix/disable it?

I have removed the plug from my head unit, but it still fires up (or tries to) when the car starts.

Is there another connection I can remove to stop it all together?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2396

Joined: 25th Sep 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: Da Maverick & xe ute

Location: Upper FTG. melbourne
VIC, Australia

cut the power cable to is, itll be brown, or red

 

_________________

Mods: sprint kit, steeda short shift, svo lip, El handles, El Air intake, au xr wheels, lukey cat back, jbl focal and pioneer sterio <--- Sold

Xe ute - Bright green with 302

Da maverick - Straight gas turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 2:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 7287

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

Location: Somewhere in
QLD, Australia

pull the passenger side kickpanel off, and look where the aerial cable goes thru the side panel, there should be a couple of wires going through the panel beside it with a plug connecting them to the rest of the loom, unplug it and you'll be set!

 

_________________

Banned

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Just about anyone has atleast one issue with the electric arials from EA through to EL.

Though mine works perfectly most of the time. 8-)

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:53 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Till_Lind wrote:
Just about anyone has atleast one issue with the electric arials from EA through to EL.

Though mine works perfectly most of the time. 8-)


same here. mine hasn't stuffed up before. but it probably will one time *touch wood*. just replace it :P. pull the panel off ( i think there are 6 screws) and just get a new one and plug it in. or the antenna might be loose and not connecting to the motor and thus not pushing....instead its slipping. good luck

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 3:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 4967

Joined: 22nd Nov 2004

Location: FAR FAR AWAY LAND
QLD, Australia

Till_Lind wrote:
Just about anyone has atleast one issue with the electric arials from EA through to EL.

Though mine works perfectly most of the time. 8-)
How can you tell when your locked in the boot :D

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 5:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4146

Joined: 7th Dec 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: E39 523i / EF Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

noisuf wrote:
Till_Lind wrote:
Just about anyone has atleast one issue with the electric arials from EA through to EL.

Though mine works perfectly most of the time. 8-)
How can you tell when your locked in the boot :D


Lol, it has begun.

 

_________________

E39 523i
EF Fairmont

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jul 20, 2006 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

If it making noise then the motors running. Chances are the mast is rooted. These can be replaced fairly easily, or it may just need a good clean out.

New masts are around $30

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 11:06 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 125

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EB Fairmont V8

Location: North Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Cheers for the info.

Seems to be the mast, I'm grabbing one from ford wreckers soon.

Have disabled it for now, so no more spastic noises from my aerial :)

It's just so annoying when these little f**k things keep happening!

Pat
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:29 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names