Fordmods Logo

fitting a ford 6 stacker to ef fairmont 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: fitting a ford 6 stacker to ef fairmont
Posted: Sat Mar 08, 2008 9:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Mar 2008

Location: Nanango
QLD, Australia

I've just bought a second hand genuine ford 6 stack to fit to my ef fairmont, and just wondering what i'll need to hook it up. Is there a plug in the wiring loom of the car, in the boot, or do i need an extra/ special lead to suit it. It's hooking up (hopefully) to the 'mid level' standard audio deck.
Any ideas much appreciated!!! :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Mar 2008

Location: Nanango
QLD, Australia

any clues??? :( :?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

yeah you need the stacker cable....

it runs the full length of the car

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I assume that you have a factory head unit thta has cd changer controls? If so all you need is the factory stacker lead that plugs into the head unit and runs to the boot to the stacker.

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 8:13 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Mar 2008

Location: Nanango
QLD, Australia

thanks. are these available new at ford, or would i have to source a second hand one somewhere?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 309

Joined: 19th Mar 2008

Ride: Holden WK Statesman

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check under the left back speaker there maybe the connector you need already there, its a white plug looking thing

 

_________________

The People's Dog

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Mar 2008

Location: Nanango
QLD, Australia

contacted my local ford dealer, and the cable is no longer manufactured. Alpine don't seem to be able to find one, either. Does anyone know of an aftermarket supplier of stereo looms?
thanks. :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

i thought the mid series H/U dont have the CD changer part?

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 3:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Mar 2008

Location: Nanango
QLD, Australia

seems to have all the right buttons for it, and according to the manual, they're compatible.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 12:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have one of these cables in the shed....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

I'm pretty sure the dedicated cable was in the EB ED high series headunits.

In my EF XR6 from years ago with mid series sound and stacker, the wiring for it was all in the body loom....... no seperate cable....

Have a look near where the stacker mounts and you may be pleasantly surprised mate.......

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 7:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 6168

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

philaddis wrote:
I'm pretty sure the dedicated cable was in the EB ED high series headunits.

In my EF XR6 from years ago with mid series sound and stacker, the wiring for it was all in the body loom....... no seperate cable....

Have a look near where the stacker mounts and you may be pleasantly surprised mate.......

it is a seperate cable, i've pulled the stacker and s**t out of my car...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

In my El Xr6 there was no cable, I fitted an Alpine stacker so the cable would have been useless anyway, but I did get one from an Ef Farimont's interior that I bought....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:58 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 13

Joined: 8th Mar 2008

Location: Nanango
QLD, Australia

If anyone is interested in selling one, i'd be happy to pay for it. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 3:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

What is your offer????

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 9:43 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names