Fordmods Logo

Ford Fairlane Ghia (no rear sound with new cd headunit) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ford Fairlane Ghia (no rear sound with new cd headunit)
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:13 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey all, first post on here. Sorry if this has been done to death but i shall try my luck.

I installed a new cd headunit into the fairlane and when i play any audio only the front speakers work. Because it isnt stock and old, the back of the headunit dosnt have a few plug slots that i probably need. This leaves about 2-3 things unplugged.

I am guessing that 1 of them goes to the amp and that powers the rear speakers.....what would one do? add me on msn or post back here if you can in any way assist me :)

ty in advance :D

(edit)
yah umm its a ford fairlane NCll 1992. The spare wires are actualy something like chords with plugs on the end that do lead to the amp. All the coloured wires are in their positions and fit well BESIDES a blue wire with the tag p-cont on it.....i suppose that is where the problem is but duno where to put it.

 

_________________

Image

Last edited by Phaithlesssound on Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:32 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

hey mate... the info youve given doesnt really show much... next time things like what model fairlane it is? what sort of system it is(headunit... i take it you have a amp...)

from what i can gather you have a amp running the rear speaker but the front running from your headunit....

if this is right youve mentioned you have a few spare wires on your head unit? id say they are orange (illumiation) blue (electric antenna) and blue with white stripe (Remote Amp On)

Check that the blue/white wire from the headunit is connected to the "Remote" input of youre amp... normally next to you + and -

let us know how you go... if this doesnt help give us a little more info... goodluck


Cheers Cam...

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

mate, ur rear speakers were being run from the factory amp...not sure how to get them back apart from installing a new set of speakers and amping them (aftermarket)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

might be a job for autobarn lol

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

should be a easy fix... p cont is your amp on... (it tells the amp that the cd players on... )is this p cont coming from you amp or head unit??? if its coming from your amp just wire it to you acc. wire... if not have a look at the factory amp... your after somthing that will say r.e.m or on (not +,- or speaker wires)

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 11, 2009 10:58 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

oh thanks mate, its coming from my head unit unfortunatley....ill try null it over :P

does any1 know where i could find the factory amp in the ford fairlane ghia ncll?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:59 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 2159

Joined: 15th Nov 2005

Gallery: 17 images

Ride: TS40

Location: Latrobe Valley
VIC, Australia

should be under the parcel shelf....?

 

_________________

Was - 2001 AUIII Ford Falcon Forte
Genuine T2 TS50 bodykit, 18" BF Cobras, Boge and Eibach Suspension and Complete AU2 Fairmont Ghia Interior

Now - 2012 FG Mk2 Ford Falcon XR6
Swift Green,6 Speed Auto, Stock... and a Fuel Card :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 11:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

The factory amp is located on the right hand side of the boot behind the side panel carpet.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 12, 2009 10:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 14

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ty all, my mate did most of it but yeh i put the p cont wire from the headunit to the amp and then an rca cabel from headunit to amp aswell now it works.....just gota make them more stealthed then it'l be all good :)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Ford Fairlane Ghia (no rear sound with new cd headunit)
Posted: Sat May 09, 2009 10:00 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 5

Joined: 12th Apr 2009

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

i know it's an old topic but for anyone else reading ... the fix is under the parcel tray in the boot...
You have a spare wiring loom which fits into the rear speakers from factory .. plug those in and you will have sound .. assuming you wired the rear speakers into the correct loom at the front of your car ...

I just purchased an aerpro wiring loom kit (ford to iso - $20) and it was all done.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum
cron

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:38 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names