Fordmods Logo

Handy with electonics 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Handy with electonics
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1181

Joined: 13th Dec 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 98 Patrol

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

My head unit has blown its Outputs and in turn has blown my amp and my bros cause we tried his amp and sub with my head unit to see if it was my amp but it blew his aswell... So im just wondering if some1 is comfortable with electronics enough to open up my amp and see wat is wrong with it?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 10:56 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

im a little confused.. you want to know what is wrong with it when u said the amp blown?

Think problem solved! :p

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 10, 2006 11:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

I would be willing to have a look for you. I'm a mechatronic engineer (nearly, haha). It is most likely a blown diode (cheap and easy) or a melted IC (maybe cheap most likely not). I'm off Uni so I can only do basic tests, up to you.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1181

Joined: 13th Dec 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 98 Patrol

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

shnoza wrote:
im a little confused.. you want to know what is wrong with it when u said the amp blown?

Think problem solved! :p

U R a simpleton.... f**k off mate dont post in my threads if u got nothing good to say!!!...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1181

Joined: 13th Dec 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 98 Patrol

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

MacGyver wrote:
I would be willing to have a look for you. I'm a mechatronic engineer (nearly, haha). It is most likely a blown diode (cheap and easy) or a melted IC (maybe cheap most likely not). I'm off Uni so I can only do basic tests, up to you.

cheers
Scott

Yeh might take u up on that mate... BTW i had a bad day ^^^^^

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

PM when you want to.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 4:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1181

Joined: 13th Dec 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 98 Patrol

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Prob wait till im down your way next...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:01 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

daggy082 wrote:
shnoza wrote:
im a little confused.. you want to know what is wrong with it when u said the amp blown?

Think problem solved! :p

U R a simpleton.... f**k off mate dont post in my threads if u got nothing good to say!!!...

It was a joke, get a sense of humour :shock:


What do you need looked at the head unit or the amps? What brands are they? It's pretty rare (i've never seen it) for a head unit to kill an amp and i'm an electronics tech who repairs this stuff all day every day.

What are the amp/s doing? Not turning on or just no sound?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 6:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 1181

Joined: 13th Dec 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: 98 Patrol

Location: Maryborough
QLD, Australia

Stone wrote:
daggy082 wrote:
shnoza wrote:
im a little confused.. you want to know what is wrong with it when u said the amp blown?

Think problem solved! :p

U R a simpleton.... f**k off mate dont post in my threads if u got nothing good to say!!!...

It was a joke, get a sense of humour :shock:


What do you need looked at the head unit or the amps? What brands are they? It's pretty rare (i've never seen it) for a head unit to kill an amp and i'm an electronics tech who repairs this stuff all day every day.

What are the amp/s doing? Not turning on or just no sound?

I have a good sense of humour but it was that funny...Like i said i had a bad day...Back on topic... well my brothers amp was working fine then we hooked it up 2 my HU and the next time he tried his amp it was f**k... No power registering... and his HU works fine...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 11, 2006 9:59 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

So no power at all? The lights don't come on? Do you definitely have power to the remote input? Have you checked with a multimeter or test light?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 10:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names