Fordmods Logo

head lights problem 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

my head lights every now and again keep dimming then they start flashing like there been turned on and off ,
there not stock there the artic blue head lights
any ideas ??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1634

Joined: 8th Jul 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: EL F100 CAPRI XR EF

Power: 234 rwkw

Location: brighton
SA, Australia

sounds like the headlight relay under the bonnet is stuffed. have u tried another 1.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:54 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 258

Joined: 30th Dec 2007

Location: cairns
QLD, Australia

It sounds like your headlight circuit breaker is starting to play up.It is located at the end of your fusebox and looks like a small metal box 25mmx10mm with 2 small bolts with yellow wires attached to them.It is probably overheating and going open circuit.Easy to replace if you have a pair of crimp pliers and a new 30 amp circuit breaker and a couple of yellow crimps to replace the originals.Let us know if you need more help.Cheers Kevman :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 6:45 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

This happen on lows or just highs as mine does this but only when on high beams, but yet kills all lights.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Fri Apr 24, 2009 7:19 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 258

Joined: 30th Dec 2007

Location: cairns
QLD, Australia

OZBMX wrote:
This happen on lows or just highs as mine does this but only when on high beams, but yet kills all lights.

That's because the 1 circuit breaker supplies power to the high and low beam relays .If you want to do the job properly then use 2 circuit breakers 1 for each relay and that way you have the other beam to rely on if the breaker trips out.Any questions? Kevman
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:39 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it turned out to be the relay im gettin one tomorow cheers for the help guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sat Apr 25, 2009 9:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Is it possible that those artic blue H3's or H4's you would have fitted are shorting somewhere?

Is it possible that they are drawing more power than the circuit was originally intended for so that this problem will resurface down the track?

I ask because if it is only happening on high beam, then obviously the circuit is handling the lower power consumption...?

Then again, I could have it all backwards?

Kevman or any other person who knows more about electricity than it hurts when you put your tongue across a telephone wire that is still in the wall.........?!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 12:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 1998

Joined: 31st Dec 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: xc wag's, tnklane wag's

Location: Munruben
QLD, Australia

kevman wrote:
OZBMX wrote:
This happen on lows or just highs as mine does this but only when on high beams, but yet kills all lights.

That's because the 1 circuit breaker supplies power to the high and low beam relays .If you want to do the job properly then use 2 circuit breakers 1 for each relay and that way you have the other beam to rely on if the breaker trips out.Any questions? Kevman


Ok so high beams are tripping the circuit breaker, hence losing all light.
If it was a dodgey circuit breaker wouldn't it normally trip under low beams aswell?
mine are standard by the way.

I'll give it a try, lets hope that's it.

 

_________________

Signature removed by moderator.signature must not exceed 120x500 pixles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 7:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

OZBMX wrote:
Ok so high beams are tripping the circuit breaker, hence losing all light.
If it was a dodgey circuit breaker wouldn't it normally trip under low beams aswell?
mine are standard by the way.

That's what I was trying to say... Surely there must be something in the circuit that is overheating and causing the breaker to fail? Either that or the breaker is on the way out, which means it cannot simply cope anymore. Replace it before it dies!

I'm still interested to see if the same symptoms could be caused by aftermarket lights drawing more power or shorting somewhere. If they short, they should blow a fuse tho...?!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:01 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

it flashes on just normal head lights aswell but i read the head lights the artics are 90-100w nd the old ones were 60-70w is there that much difference that the circut cant handle it ?
and i checked the relay and when the head lights flash it sounds like there is a clicking is that the circut breaker going on and off or is there a problem with the relay
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 8:18 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

and there the cosmos blue H4 100\90w i read that apparently they still run normally on the standard 50-60w circut
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Sun Apr 26, 2009 11:36 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 258

Joined: 30th Dec 2007

Location: cairns
QLD, Australia

ok last time the circuit breaker is a resettable fuse .It protects your wiring and switch from short circuits.The reason they use a breaker is that when it cools down it will reset which gives you your headlights back until the breaker heats up and goes open circuit and bye bye headlights.These circuit breakers have given trouble exactly as you have stated previously.I personally have been replacing them since I started an autoelectrical apprenticeship back in 1980.The circuit breaker is made of a bi-metallic strip and when it heats up it springs open and when it cools down it returns to it's original position,whereby the battery power flows to your relays and lo and behold there is light or in your case headlights.They do get old and have the attention span of a flashing light so they forget their job and then they remember,forget their job and remember etc,etc ad infinitum if you want to test if it is faulty wait til your lights are flashing and put a jump wire or a small screwdriver across the circuit breaker and see if the lights work.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:44 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cheer thanks alot guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:30 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

bought new relay breakers and it still does it but about 30secs later tho so its a little improvement
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: head lights problem
Posted: Wed Apr 29, 2009 11:31 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 218

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

bought new relay breakers and it still does it but about 30secs later tho so its a little improvement
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:28 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names