Fordmods Logo

Head unit adaptors. 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Head unit adaptors.
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 2:21 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

well, ive got an oldish pioneer deck to go in the car. (DEH P646)

now i dont wanna go chopping into the factory loom (no reason, jsut dont want to)

now ive heard you can get adaptors that plug into the factory headunit plug and then changes into a pioneer plug that will fit the headunit? is this true?

if so how much would i be looking at for one, and should any good car audio place stock them?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 3:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

yes that is true. most places stock them, i had to get two adapters and join them together but thats still better than chopping the factory loom

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 4:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

either that or if u cant find one for ur specific model, grab any old falcon to iso or generic one with labled wires, and cut and strip the non-ford end

this way u keep ur loom in tact, and u just gotta connect ur wires as usual

 

_________________

<br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

p0ly wrote:
either that or if u cant find one for ur specific model, grab any old falcon to iso or generic one with labled wires, and cut and strip the non-ford end

this way u keep ur loom in tact, and u just gotta connect ur wires as usual


i think i might do that.. ive got the origional pioneer plug for the head unit and just wanted to not hack up the factory loom, and gotta splice into it for a tv so yeh..

any ideas on the price im looking at for one?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2005 8:28 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 229

Joined: 7th Feb 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

last time i did one was my mates camry, $19 from repco, pretty sure they where all between 18 and 20 from ya different models

 

_________________

<br>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2005 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 3794

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: Hilux

Location: Mornington
VIC, Australia

sorry i failed to mention that when i did mine i never had the loom out the back of the stereo as it was a new factory one.
but yeah about 20 bucks should cover it

 

_________________

Now driving a Hilux

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 2:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

Try super cheap auto - have got lots in stock.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 3:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

If you cant find a falcon one, i believe the vn commodores had the same plug. I was going to put the commodore stereo (mitsubishi?) stereo in mine to see if it worked. Plugged in, didnt work :P Turns out theyre wired differently, but the plug is the same so you can rewire it from there. Thats for an eb anyway

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 12:10 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

easier to get falcon one coz wire colours will match...
i got one for my lancer for like $20. made life alot easier
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh, i just bought a falcon one and chopped the ends off

cheers

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:57 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names