Fordmods Logo

head unit sub out 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: head unit sub out
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:43 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 26

Joined: 13th Jan 2007

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Grandchester
QLD, Australia

hi ya all
i am about to purchase a head unit for my EL
my question is - some head units have a seperate feed out for a sub
is this something for me to look for when i purchase or does it make no difference
i plan on fitting a sub and amp at a later date
hope someone can help
Craig
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: head unit
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

90% of your good head units have whats know as rca output yes this is something to look for when getting a head unit it is pretty important

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2449

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon EB-s

Location: Manjimup
WA, Australia

if it doesnt have a dedicated sub out, then the sub wont be able to be manipulated independantly of the speakers. I have no sub out on my pioneer deck, and just run the sub and amp off the rear rcas, and it does me fine, but id much rather seperate. Im not one to complain when the deck was free but :p

 

_________________

The problem with America is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

As above, and some head units have RCA out, and a dedicated sub out, what you get depends on the application. If you're only running a sub of an amp, then it doesn't much matter.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:02 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 180

Joined: 21st Jul 2005

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: FG XR6

Location: Geelong
VIC, Australia

Having dedicated sub-out RCAs means you can control the subs volume from your headunit. Very handy.

 

_________________

Subtle but high quality audio system.
Alpine processor and amp / Focal Utopia splits / Soundstream Exact sub

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: head unit
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 6:36 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 26

Joined: 13th Jan 2007

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Grandchester
QLD, Australia

thanks for the quick reply
i will get one with a line out for a sub being able to control the sub from the head unit would be handy
Craig
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Jaycar sell an active subwoofer filter which can be used to filter out the high frequencies and leave you with line level low frequencies for driving the sub amp from the rear line level outputs. The crossover frequency is switchable but you will need RCA's out of your HU to drive it however they do also sell a speaker to line level adapter as well should you not have the outputs.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 2:45 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

The high to low level converters (Ive got one), seem to be not so good on the quality sound side, but I guess if you have to. And most amps have a crossover built in already.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 28, 2007 8:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 43

Posts: 2705

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 2009 FG XR6 Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Most of the JVC range come with (4) RCA and (1) RCA Sub out. I have one of the older mp3 JVC's in my EL and the seperate sub is very handy. Check out the link for more info and approx prices.

http://www.jvc.com.au/
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Wiring up the Unit
Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:06 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 26

Joined: 13th Jan 2007

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Grandchester
QLD, Australia

hi all... thanks for your replies.
I'm cgn21's missus and I'm trying to get him a JVC unit for his birthday very shortly... it'll be self installed and I know there are 'quick connectors' to do the job.. just not sure which ones ... any help would be much appreciated. He needs speakers as well .. anything special I should be looking for ??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 9:46 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 383

Joined: 11th Aug 2006

Ride: 6.0L VE Calais-V

Location: Hastings
VIC, Australia

4 RCA's and 1 RCA for sub is a weird way of doing it... Most head units with the option have front (2RCAs), rear (2RCAs) and subwoofer (2RCAs) and most amps have 2 RCA inputs, so it makes sense to have 2.

If you can afford it, you'd be better off looking at Alpine, Pioneer or Eclipse head units.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 1:36 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names