Fordmods Logo

help, fuse blowing everytime 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: help, fuse blowing everytime
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 5:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

well my mate and i went to work to put in the neon blue dash today. and well, it lights up, but as soon as you turn the headlights on, it blows the fuse. evrytimne, gone through about 5 fuses already ntrying to dissiffer the problem

can anyone help me please!!!!!! i am that fustrated it is not funny :evil:

just to let u knopw what we done,

replaced the globes behind cluster with NARVA LED's,
replaved golges behind CC buttons,
replaced globes behind trip computer,
replaced globes behind rear demister, and aerial.
(all with jaycar 5000MCD LED's)

and the LCD panels for the trip computer, CC, and cluster are very very dull.

can someone please help me... please!!!!

i was so damn looking foward to this as it was the first mod to the car, and now i can not enjoy it.

cheers boys

BEN

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 7:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

please anyone???

it is s**t me too tears

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1380

Joined: 13th Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: BA GT

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

its probably drawing to much current, get a multi and find out
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

might have a short circuit somewhere... recheck ur work
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:58 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

we ahve checked 5 times over on the wiring

i shallcheck agian,but were could it be shorting??

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 740

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the globe holders can f**k up inside. so check them first.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

take teh bulb out and go from + pin to ground and measure the volts it should be 12v if 0 u have a short or try a megger
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 418

Joined: 23rd Jan 2005

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

take teh bulb out and go from + pin to ground and measure the volts it should be 12v if 0 u have a short or try a megger
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:24 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

the bloke that know is a leco..... he cant find anything

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 9:45 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

we connected the auto aerial to the constantb12V

IS THAT RIGHT??

if someone doesnt know the answer, i wil have o get auto leco to look at t now

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

unplug everything.. leave the dash plugged in
if that works, plug 1 more globe in, and so on.. then when it blows you know your problem

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 13, 2006 5:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

well i tried the one globe at a time. i left the cluster in as all i done to that was exchange the 6 globes with narva globes.

but that is still blowing the fuse.
so the trip, CC, and all buttons (fuel, CLock, boot) are all dissconnected.

i have gone through 5 fuses so far.

as soon as i turn on the headlights, it is blowing..\


what can i do?? would a larger fuse work (currently using 20amp)

please help, it is giving me s**t big time

cheers

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 6:10 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4355

Joined: 14th Dec 2005

Gallery: 36 images

Ride: Fairlane

Location: Newy
NSW, Australia

well i finally worked out what was wrong... my mate had wired up the stereo wrong, a few leads going into stupid places, cant remember whichones. so that is why the fuse was blowing.

we fixed that, then the cluster wouldnt light up, so we turned all thenarvas aroud, and only could see a slight light through the needles. i thought to my self, this beter not be as good as it gets!!! but no... i went through and found that in the electric antenna button where we wired in LED and resistor, the + and - were touching. so as soon as we fixed that, cluster lit up beautifully. but now the lights in the rear dimister and antenna dont light up. but i think it is just that the led and resister is around the wrong way + to - and - to +.....\

but it looks awesome, hopefully i shall get these led's fixed and it will all be done!!! :)

i did change the backing in the trip computer to blue, using the blue postit notes. but it oesnt seem to light up as bright, and it looks like a totally differnt blue, and just looks out of place. i left the original led that was in there on it, should i swap it over to a narva, or dont u think it will do it any good?

cheers boys.

Anyone thinking of doing this mod, do it, very good urn out, might take a bit of mucking around if u dont know exactly what ur doing, but u will get there...

love it!!!

 

_________________

The Lane Lives.... Finally!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:13 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Yeah Rod and Fraser both said that the blue didnt work as well on high series clusters.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:31 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

castlegreyskull wrote:
i did change the backing in the trip computer to blue, using the blue postit notes. but it oesnt seem to light up as bright, and it looks like a totally differnt blue, and just looks out of place


Looks like a bit of a ghey greeney colour?

Try soaking the postit note in WD40 and let it dry out. That makes it greasy and will sort of darken the colour of the light passing through...

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 10:07 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names