Fordmods Logo

help, how do i bridge my amp to run two voice coils on sub 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 33 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 2:13 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 238

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: Lincoln Navigator

Location: USA
Oustide Australia

Alright, I'm a little confused why someone hasn't piped up with this question. Is your sub dual 2ohm or dual 4ohm voice coils?

Because if it's dual 2's, then you can series your voice coils and then bridge your amp. If it's just dual 4's, then you'll have to make sure your two channel amp is 1 ohm stable, or just use the two channels powering one voice coil each.

Which way did you wire it up?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 4:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

here you go
Now my amp is on but isnt powering the sub so i think i proper f%#$ed it

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 5:22 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Try This
Positive Channel 1 Amp to positive on box
Negative Channel 2 Amp to negative on box
Wire the sub to the box as you have done it.

Have you taken into consideration the frequency response of your sub/box combination with various wiring configurations. The optimal box size for 2, 8 or dual 4 ohm configuration can differ greatly.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

no i didnt try that or consider what you have said, i thik you might be onto something with connecting the positive from one channel and the negative from the other, thats what i recon the silk screening meant. I'll go out and try it now but i think the amp is f$#ked now
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 6:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ok i did that and now the amp is working and will power the sub but now the sub is beating for no apparent reason, out of time with the music. With low pass switched on it goes BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM. On high pass this is cancelled out. As well as doing this irregular beating it plays the music but this beating is f**k loud and the sub looks like its got heaps of excursion, but i dont think it should. Any ideas?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 7:25 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Haven't seen this before, but it sounds BAD. Possible either over powering the sub, or you've wired the two voice coils out of phase and they're fighting each other.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2005 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

i'll check it out tommorow
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:05 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

generally if they are wired out of phase then the sub won't move at all.

I would check that you amp is 2 ohm stable.

Do you still get the "boom boom boom..." when you disconnect the RCA's from the amp?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 6:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 351

Joined: 5th Oct 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: Rockingham
WA, Australia

if u still need to figure out how dual voice coil subs are connected this site might help.
http://www.crutchfieldadvisor.com/S-A9f ... tml?page=3
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 7:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

kodak wrote:
generally if they are wired out of phase then the sub won't move at all.

I would check that you amp is 2 ohm stable.

Do you still get the "boom boom boom..." when you disconnect the RCA's from the amp?


i can disconnect the red rca cable and still get the boom boom boom but if i disconnect the other it stops all together
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 10:39 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

what amp have you got?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 1:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ive got an altec 140W x2 channel competition amp (acs 240)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 6:26 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 75

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

when you say "stops altogether" is that just the "boom" or the music as well?
Is there a switch on the amp to select between 1 channel and two channel?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2005 8:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

kodak wrote:
when you say "stops altogether" is that just the "boom" or the music as well?
Is there a switch on the amp to select between 1 channel and two channel?


There no switch, and by stops altogether i mean there is nothing, music or "boom boom".

I have fixed the problem by running the voice coils in series and bridging the amp by running the positive from channel one and the negative from channel two. The bass is strong, not too muddy and i cannot hear any distortion. Without cranking the headunit up to normal playing levels the bass was already too loud so a bit of EQ later and turning down the gain control it is all good. Thanks to everyone that helped with suggestions.
Some might be interested to know that i went to bunnings today and got a sheet of mdf to seal off the boot and i will have the sub looking into the cabin through that and it will be boxed from behind.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2005 10:37 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 15

Joined: 3rd Nov 2005

Gallery: 3 images

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

u have to have

im pretty sure this is it


Image
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names