Fordmods Logo

help on installing head unit into an AU 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: help on installing head unit into an AU
Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 8:58 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 192

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 08 ranger xlt

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey all,

im about to install a headunit into a friends au series III falcon. is there anything i hav to look out for? do they hav double din mount?? i cant quite rememba. ive installed them in els and other cars but not an au yet. any help would be much appreciated.

 

_________________

IF ONLY MY GIRLFRIEND WAS AS DIRTY AS MY CAR

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:03 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yer my xr was double din but some low spec models have a single din HU

a good idea is to get the wiring harness that plugs into the AU loom and has the loose wires out of that plug so u do not have to cut/solder into the original loom

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 20, 2006 10:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 529

Joined: 23rd Aug 2006

Ride: 2000 AU Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

as far as i know, all AU's are double din, in some you have to choose to loose the little pocket under the deck that would ussually hold phone wallet etc... just get a wiring diagram from here or google and you will be right, or go get a wiring harness..

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:36 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 192

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 08 ranger xlt

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

any idea on the price of these 'wiring harnesses'?

 

_________________

IF ONLY MY GIRLFRIEND WAS AS DIRTY AS MY CAR

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 6:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 558

Joined: 6th May 2006

Location: cbd melb.
VIC, Australia

covers wrote:
any idea on the price of these 'wiring harnesses'?


There pretty cheap around $20 i think.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:14 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 40

Posts: 59

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Ride: BA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Harness is less than $20. Autobarn or similar stock them.

Depending on the depth of the 2 din unit, then you may have to angle it to fit it in. I have an Eclipse AVN6000 in mine, and it's got a fair angle (pointing down) on it due to a cross member at the rear of the stereo.

 

_________________

The difference between pornography and erotica is lighting.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:53 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 21

Joined: 31st May 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Just a tip if installing two separate single din units, I installed a clarion tv and a clarion head unit in my AU, installing the bottom unit first saves alot of time and problems as i tried the top on first and spent an hour trying to tease the bottom one in. Also placing the little rubber stick on the back of the unit in only the bottom unit and not on the top unit helps as if installed on the top unit, it wont provide enough angle for the bottom unit to sit.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names