Fordmods Logo

Help With EF Falcon Gli (Deck Wiring) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Help With EF Falcon Gli (Deck Wiring)
Posted: Wed Aug 22, 2007 8:28 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 16th Apr 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

So... ive decided to remove the old deck .. i went out and bought a Xplode Deck around 250$.. I cant seem to wire up the deck to the stock Wires.. :( i was too lazy to go buy a conversion cable , so what did i do cut the stock plug off.

Anyway i have tryed 2 times , i followed a document in the EF/EL section on wiring diagrams (low range head unit EF) some of the colors from that diagram are different on my car i dont know why? but i tryed to correspond them to the right wires but its just not working.

{Edit}

added Wiring [Main Harness] colours [EF Ford Falcon/Gli]

Pin1 : GREY/green
Pin2 : ORANGE/green
Pin3 : Brown
Pin4 : GREEN/yellow
Pin5 : BLUE/white
Pin6 : GREY/black
Pin7 : ORANGE/black
Pin8 : <-! No Pin ->
Pin9 : <-! No Pin ->
Pin10 : BLUE/red
Pin11 : <-! No Pin ->
Pin12 : <-! No Pin ->

Second Harness is just Back speaker cables L and R

And of course the stock Black Ground Cable.



here is a look at the deck i bought [ http://www.sony.com.au/xplod/catalog/pr ... ryId=22000 ] its the (CDXGT260
CD HEADUNIT 50W 2 CODEC FAUX ) 3rd one down the list

Ive also removed the front speakers and put shallow 6,5 inch 4way [300watt] currently buying back speakers.

Any help would be much appreciated thanx if you need a pic of the wires in my car ill take one [no drama's]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 1:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i dont see why anyone would cut the plug off when its so easy to buy the adaptor from nearly any audio place or auto store. with the adaptor its all colour coded and so easy
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Its not hard.....

To see if it works all you need to do is connect the ground (black) up, the power (Dark Green / Yellow), and the acc (Dark Blue / White) to your corresponding wires.
And switch it to acc. If it doesnt work then, then you either have a faulty deck (well it is a sony....), or you blew a fuse.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Come to think of it, there might be 2 wires the same colours as the power wire.... Do you have a test light/ multimeter? Supercheap have the test lights for like $2, get one and start poking at wires if you dont lol.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 830

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: au xr8 & 5.0 eb

Location: yarrawonga
VIC, Australia

wire the old standard plug back on then,go buy the cables for like $15 each you will need 2 1 ef to iso and 1 iso to sony,i did see on a mates ef that it had a seperate earth going to head unit! it was just a push on spade;that was in a fairmont not sure if it was for the head unit or the elec aireal
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:33 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 16th Apr 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Ok now im in real trouble........... i cut the plug while it was connected to the battery and now my car wont start it kicks over... everythink else is powered accept the car wont start.. battery is fine. The only thing i noticed that does not work is The smart lock no doors lock and the boot wont open? have i blown something real bad? i checked all the fuse's in the fuse box they look fine :cry: i think i might roll it on the street n call the RAA lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Maybe you should pay someone who knows what they are doing in future before you destroy your car!!!!

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:48 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 16th Apr 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

:? i knew how to wire computers n s**t so i thought i might giv it ago how will ya learn if ya never no how to do it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 2:13 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

check the interior light fuse. Its common to blow it doing this sort of work and it is one of the power feeds to the bem
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Plugging in a few drives in a pc is hardly the same as the wiring in a car as you have no doubt found. The problem of not knowing what you are doing with these more modern cars is you can destroy expensive components or even set off air bags etc....
I started at 14 by learning on HQ Holdens and the like and progressed from there so maybe you should find someone who can show you a few things about vehicle wiring systems and give you a hand with wiring up the new components before you damage something....

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: DOORS
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 404

Joined: 4th May 2007

Gallery: 8 images

Location: Noosa
QLD, Australia

the reason your dors wont lock is because of the interior lamp fuse...same thing ahppened to me. i dont know how you could have stuffed it up so bad, i put a sony headunit into in and she works a treat.... keep trying and make sure you dont start any fires!!!

 

_________________

99 AU Fairlane Ghia V8 Black Leather, 19" ANZ 5+5's with 245/35 rubber
Full sound system. Extractors, Dual 2.25" exhaust.
Lowered on Tickford XR8 springs and shocks!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:40 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 16th Apr 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ok so the interior light fuse is blown but replacing this isnt going to fix the engine. i did start work on a datsun200b but when i did eventually get a car all these new mobo's n wiring computer chips are all new to me and this was my EF Falcon . but i quess im learning now :wink:


EDTI**** you guys wer right :) the fuse was stopping it from starting thanx alot now ill go return the cd player and get a new one because i think it might be blown

Last edited by kapz on Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 12:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 582

Joined: 20th Nov 2004

Ride: xr6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

This is the reason why a lot of places and manufacturers don't want to give warranty on self installed components...

 

_________________

Do it once, Do it right!!!!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:56 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names